Whole Wheat Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
OMG these are good! I used 2 C of whole wheat flour. 1/3 cup of agave, 3/4 c of cream, cinnamon, nutmeg, 1/4 c of skim milk, 3 bananas & 3TBLS of cocoa... the perfect snow day treat. We ate them like we hadn't eaten in 3 days. They did cook in less time also. Great starter muffin recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
I just tried these myself & they are delicious! It seems to be a perfect base recipe or it's great on it's own. I used whole wheat flour for it all, used coconut oil instead of vegetable oil, raw sugar instead of white sugar, & added 1 tsp of cinnamon & 1 tsp ginger like someone else suggested. I drizzled some honey on top & it added a touch more of sweetness. My husband likes them & he is SO hard to please, especially things that are more healthy for you. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
I personally like these. I made mine with applesauce instead of oil and added some spices. They came out good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David Shultz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
this turned into bread. we added chocolate chips which is the only reason it was slightLy edible. other than that it was bad ? dont use this recipe lol. tried making the batter TWO TIMES!!!! both times it was too dry. like it wasnt batter it was like dough so i was lmao wtf !!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by animalluver
Reviewed: May 11, 2014
I have made this recipe multiple times and it has always worked out for me. I added 1 cup of froze n berries to the muffins and another time I made it with apples by adding 2 tsp. of cinnamon to the dry ingredients and mixing 1 cup of chopped apples to the batter. Both tasted great! But with the berries you can not mix it to much with an electric mixer or your batter will turn gray:( ( I found by experience ) I also topped them with a quick frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by animalluver

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
Great basic recipe, though I did make a few modifications... I took the suggestion of another user and used applesauce instead of oil, and I also used all whole wheat flour instead of half white and half whole wheat. I added in around 1/3 cup of ground flax, as well as cinnamon, nutmeg, and cloves (more cinnamon than anything else, but I kind of winged it!) and to compensate for the flax and the amount of whole wheat flour, added around 1/4 cup more almond milk (which I used instead of milk) and 1/4 cup more applesauce. I also added 1/4 cup of honey and cut back the sugar. The result: something that tastes kind of like a honey-whole-wheat muffin with a big of sweet spice. I'm also pretty sure that with some modifications you could make this a vegan recipe, or substitute sucralose for sugar for diabetics. Next time I may add grated apple, or substitute orange juice for milk and add dried cranberries. The possibilities are endless. Again, lovely basic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
changed oil to applesauce, used half splenda and half sugar, added vanilla and cinnamon. Quite good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
Just made this to pass out in bagged lunches. They were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
substituted oil with applesauce, cinnamon and nutmeg as per a suggestion here. They were extremely dry and heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
This recipe was AMAZING! Like the others, I did change the recipe. I replaced the sugar with half a cup of honey, the oil for half a cup of applesauce, the egg for two egg whites, and the flours for 2 cups of whole wheat flour. They came out delicious and moist. I will definitely make these again in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Whole Wheat Biscuits

Use coconut oil and almond milk to create totally vegan biscuits.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States