Whole Wheat Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
this turned into bread. we added chocolate chips which is the only reason it was slightLy edible. other than that it was bad ? dont use this recipe lol. tried making the batter TWO TIMES!!!! both times it was too dry. like it wasnt batter it was like dough so i was lmao wtf !!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lizzy :)
Reviewed: May 11, 2014
I have made this recipe multiple times and it has always worked out for me. I added 1 cup of froze n berries to the muffins and another time I made it with apples by adding 2 tsp. of cinnamon to the dry ingredients and mixing 1 cup of chopped apples to the batter. Both tasted great! But with the berries you can not mix it to much with an electric mixer or your batter will turn gray:( ( I found by experience ) I also topped them with a quick frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lizzy :)

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
Great basic recipe, though I did make a few modifications... I took the suggestion of another user and used applesauce instead of oil, and I also used all whole wheat flour instead of half white and half whole wheat. I added in around 1/3 cup of ground flax, as well as cinnamon, nutmeg, and cloves (more cinnamon than anything else, but I kind of winged it!) and to compensate for the flax and the amount of whole wheat flour, added around 1/4 cup more almond milk (which I used instead of milk) and 1/4 cup more applesauce. I also added 1/4 cup of honey and cut back the sugar. The result: something that tastes kind of like a honey-whole-wheat muffin with a big of sweet spice. I'm also pretty sure that with some modifications you could make this a vegan recipe, or substitute sucralose for sugar for diabetics. Next time I may add grated apple, or substitute orange juice for milk and add dried cranberries. The possibilities are endless. Again, lovely basic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
changed oil to applesauce, used half splenda and half sugar, added vanilla and cinnamon. Quite good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
Just made this to pass out in bagged lunches. They were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
substituted oil with applesauce, cinnamon and nutmeg as per a suggestion here. They were extremely dry and heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
This recipe was AMAZING! Like the others, I did change the recipe. I replaced the sugar with half a cup of honey, the oil for half a cup of applesauce, the egg for two egg whites, and the flours for 2 cups of whole wheat flour. They came out delicious and moist. I will definitely make these again in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
This recipe was good but I did alter it a bit. I used 1 1/2 cups of whole wheat flour, 1/2 cup rolled oats and added chopped apples, walnuts, pecans, and about 1/8 cup chia seeds. Yummy and very filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Martins Ferry, Ohio, USA
Living In: Bethesda, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
These were good! I had to substitute flax seed for egg cuz I was out of eggs. I agree with a couple other reviews that they were slightly heavier like a bread than a muffin. However, that is more what I was going for this time so it worked out really well. Adding the cinnamon/nutmeg like several reviewers mentioned wouldn't hurt. I opted to add chocolate chips to half the batch and cranberries/walnuts to the other and I sprinkled them all with coarse sugar. :) Thanks for the quick, easy and good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
80% of my baked stuff usually fails..This muffins came out PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Whole Wheat Biscuits

Use coconut oil and almond milk to create totally vegan biscuits.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States