Whole Wheat Maple Quick Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
Absolutely amazing. Moist and flavorful. Delicoius warm. I made a few changes though: 1. Upped the milk to 1/2 a cup 2. Used splenda instead of syrup 3. Baked for 40 minutes, the last 10 foil covered. 4. Doubled the cinnamon, left out the nutmeg. This is some of the best bread I've had in a long time. I'm eating my second slice now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie A

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
This bread was just so-so for us. I read the other reviews that you could barely taste the maple, so I added a tsp. of maple extract in addition to the syrup, and the maple flavoring was still just ok at best. I think if I had not expected this to be a sweet bread, I would have liked it more, but for some reason the "Maple" in the name led me to imagine a banana bread-like sweet bread, not a plain, hint-of-maple loaf. I hate to add sugar where it's not called for, but I felt like this bread needed it. It was still ok, and we still ate it for breakfasts, but I probably won't make it again. I also only had plain ol' fake syrup (not the real stuff), and imitation maple flavoring, so that might have had something to do with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
I followed all the directions, but I found it bland (despite increasing the spices). I wish I hadn't wasted expensive syrup. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alpine, California, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2008
I don't know. Maybe I did something wrong. the flavor was just ok but it was weird. after it had already risen and was half done in the oven it sprung a leek and started dripping batter all over my oven. it was very weird. when it was finally done the texture was also weird.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
This was a very good, quick and simple recipe. I omitted the lemon and added about 2 tbsp. extra maple syrup. I also used vanilla flavored yogurt and used cinnamon plus pumpkin pie seasoning for extra taste. It was finished cooking about 5 minutes early so be sure to check it before the 50 minutes. I put a few dollops of butter on top after it came out of the oven and sprinkled with raw sugar. My company loved it and I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
Very nice soft textured whole wheat bread. I substitued 1 cup of Splenda instead of the maple syrup. For cinnamon raisin bread I increased the cin to 1 tsp and added about a 1/2 c of raisins. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by marathonmama
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
I love how this comes out so moist! especially for a whole wheat bread. the other plus- my kids really like this bread better than a lot of whole grain breads I make. the minuses- a bit shy on taste, and it seems to have a weird smell to it . I'm not sure what gives it that smell- the yogurt? I've tried this a few different times- once like the recipe says and later with different variations to try to get rid of the smell. Once I decreased the milk to 1/4 cup, added 1/2 cup of pumpkin puree and double the cinnamon for more taste, also I've tried using vanilla soymilk in place of the milk. Neither seemed to help. I do LOVE how the consistancy of the bread turns out so I will continue to play with this recipe and find something that works- maybe change out the yogurt for applesauce? not sure. Definately is better with added something like pumpkin, zucchini, carrots, raisins, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marathonmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
So delicious bread for breakfast ! Kids enjoy it with chocolate paste .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by namuelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salon-De-Provence, Provence-Alpes-Côte D'azur, France
Reviewed: May 18, 2007
This is easy to make, satisfying, and has a good texture. However, it is just a little shy on taste. I'd add more maple syrup or cinnamon. A little cinnamon sugar on top would be perfect. I used fat free vanilla yogurt for sweetness, two egg whites, and skim milk to cut calories. FYI, the juice of one lemon is 2 -3 tablespoons. Thanks for the tip about putting foil on top. Definitely test the bread before fifty minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2007
Wow I was surprised how amazing this recipe was with whole wheat flour. I made them into muffins instead of loaf pans. Kids ate them up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States