Whole Wheat Maple Quick Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2005
Very good and good for you. I substituted buttermilk for skim (its extrememely low in fat and very rich tasting). I cooked my first one 45 min and it was too long, made it dry. I cooked the second one approx. 40 min and it made a big difference, I also loosely covered the top with foil the last 10 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
So maybe I'm jumping the gun a little since I haven't even pulled this loaf out of the oven yet, but the batter/dough tasted so good, it is rising so beautifully (better than any bread I've made recently), and has the most delightful color. I had to substitute 1 T milled flax seed + 3 T water for the egg because I ran out yesterday and haven't been able to get through the snow to the store yet. I also used 1 2/3 c whole wheat flour + 1/3 c unbleached all-purpose flour because I didn't have any pastry flour. I can't wait to taste this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Bend, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Manitowish Waters, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2005
This recipe is great- I happened to find maple yogurt at Whole Foods, so I used it! This is healthy & low cal. And surprisingly very moist! Reminds me a bit of gingerbread. All my quick bread recipes need to have foil on the top the last half of the baking time to prevent over-browning. No exception here. Thanks for submitting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2007
This is easy to make, satisfying, and has a good texture. However, it is just a little shy on taste. I'd add more maple syrup or cinnamon. A little cinnamon sugar on top would be perfect. I used fat free vanilla yogurt for sweetness, two egg whites, and skim milk to cut calories. FYI, the juice of one lemon is 2 -3 tablespoons. Thanks for the tip about putting foil on top. Definitely test the bread before fifty minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2007
Wow I was surprised how amazing this recipe was with whole wheat flour. I made them into muffins instead of loaf pans. Kids ate them up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2006
i love this bread! i ate like half a loaf in a day! i made this even lower calorie than it all ready is: i substituted splenda for the sugar, egg substitute, skim milk, and just a bit of syrup for the taste. this was awesome! so moist, and crusty if you bake it a bit longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
This recipe does not need any modifications to make it "light" or "low fat". It is already a healthy bread and if you use sugar free maple syrup..... of course it is going to be bland. The maple syrup is what gives it flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
I followed all the directions, but I found it bland (despite increasing the spices). I wish I hadn't wasted expensive syrup. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alpine, California, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by marathonmama
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
I love how this comes out so moist! especially for a whole wheat bread. the other plus- my kids really like this bread better than a lot of whole grain breads I make. the minuses- a bit shy on taste, and it seems to have a weird smell to it . I'm not sure what gives it that smell- the yogurt? I've tried this a few different times- once like the recipe says and later with different variations to try to get rid of the smell. Once I decreased the milk to 1/4 cup, added 1/2 cup of pumpkin puree and double the cinnamon for more taste, also I've tried using vanilla soymilk in place of the milk. Neither seemed to help. I do LOVE how the consistancy of the bread turns out so I will continue to play with this recipe and find something that works- maybe change out the yogurt for applesauce? not sure. Definately is better with added something like pumpkin, zucchini, carrots, raisins, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marathonmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
This is a great breakfast bread, and very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mfmenchi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leominster, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States