Whole Wheat Honey Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
My whole family loved this bread. We also substituted butter for the shortening and used 1 cup of white and 2 cups of whole wheat flour instead of 3 cups of whole wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
Our favorite everyday bread! I won't buy store bread anymore!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
My friend gave me her breadmaker that she no longer used, and we're in heaven! This recipe is the first one that I tried... so yummy! I made a few changes to make it dairy free...I used Earth Balance stick margarine instead of shortening or butter, and used 3/4 cup water with 3/8 cup soy milk, warmed to about 80 degrees in the microwave. (Instead of the milk powder.) I also added a little vital wheat gluten for better rising, about 2 tsp, but you could probably add more. I adapted the recipe for a 1 and 1/2 lb. loaf, so your measurements might be a little different. I used the whole wheat setting with a medium crust, and it has ocme out perfectly every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
I'm a novice bread baker, this was my second loaf ever to bake and it came out great. I used my bread machine on a basic loaf setting, not the wheat and followed a couple other suggestions in other reviews, put the salt and honey with the water and I used Canola oil. The bread came out nice and crusty, inside soft but not too soft which is the way we like it.This loaf came out much better then the recipe I got with my new bread machine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
I don't have a bread machine, but I really wanted to make 100% whole wheat flour bread. So I did it old fashion way. I used 4 cups of whole wheat four because it was too wet. It didn't rise very much, so I ended up with pretty dense bread but tastes great!! I set my oven 375, and the crust turned out a little hard so next time I would try 360. Because it didn't rise a lot, and texture turned out dense (but still soft and yummy!), it was very easy to slice the bread, however, if anyone knows something I should know when I want to make a bread machine recipe by hand, please tell me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kobe, Hyogo, Japan
Living In: Highland, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Whit
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I have XY chromosomes, made this recipe and it still tasted fantastic! Followed the instructions to combine all dry ingredients and put the salt with the liquids and it turned out great. I also put in 1/4 cup of oil instead of 1 1/2 tablespoons of shortening. This is now a staple at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
I added vital wheat gluten (3TBS). Came out well. A nice slightly dense wheat bread, perfect texture for making sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Suffolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
I have been looking for a better whole wheat bread recipe and this is my favorite! My kids love it, too, which makes me very happy. It reminds me of bread I use to get at a cafe I use to go to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
Great bread, lighter than I expected WW bread to be (but that's a good thing!). Holds up well too (I don't like it when homemade bread drops crumbs everywhere). :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winamac, Indiana, USA
Living In: Greenback, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
I've made this bread countless times. It is fantastic! Now I'm an old retired guy so if I can't tinker in the shop I go to the kitchen. I tried cutting the honey to 1/4 cup and caught H for that so back to 1/3 cup, as I always say I may be crazy but I'm not stupid. I divided the flour between whole wheat and white whole wheat, I've used butter flavored crisco and also I can't believe its not butter, Recently added 1/4 cup wheat germ. I have only used 1 Tbsp of gluten per recipe but will try up to 3 in the next. My machine which I picked up at Goodwill has a whole wheat setting but the timer just counts down, maybe it need to add a crust setting? I knead on the dough setting, proof in a greased loaf pan and bake at 350 for 35 min. The result looks great and tastes great. All are happy in the Kingdom! Dale
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Beavercreek, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 658) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Whole Wheat and Honey Pizza Dough

See how to make healthy homemade whole wheat pizza dough.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States