Whole Wheat Honey Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
This was my second bread machine attempt, and it turned out great! I didn't have shortening, so I substituted butter. I also used organic, sprouted whole wheat flour. This is a hearty and VERY filling bread. At 12 servings, it is 4 weight watchers points per slice. For sandwiches, be sure to slice it thin, or just use one slice and cut it in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
This recipe turned out so moist considering it used only whole wheat flour! I was also surprised that with a whole 1/3 cup of honey, it didn't turn out too sweet. The only thing I changed was using some whey or milk in place of water instead of water and milk powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
Have been making this weekly for 3 months. Awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
I tried this recipe twice now, and both times the bread came out perfect! On second try, I replaced fat w/ flax seeds, and it's just as delicious! Thanks for this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
This is my go to bread recipe. I've tried many and this is the one I always go back to. A few things I do for personal preference. I use 2 cups of white bread flour and one cup of whole wheat. We just aren't crazy about the texure or taste of whole wheat. I also sub coconut oil for the shortening. It gives a light sweetness as well as being a healthier option. Other than that I do add the salt to the liquids and bake using the white and light bread settings as suggested here. I haven't tried the other cycles as this works just fine. - cheryl
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
Excellent, best whole wheat loaf I have made yet. The first time, I used the whole wheat setting and it came out a little too dense with a very hard crust. However, the second time, I followed another reviewer's advice and used my basic setting with a light crust and it came out perfect. I added about a tablespoon of fresh chopped rosemary for some flavor. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
This bread is a perfect recipe. I will use this over and over again. Put it in the bread machine the night before, set the timer to be done by the time we wake up, and its just wonderful! Thanks so much for this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
This bread is wonderful. I have been making it 2-3 times per week for the last few weeks. All three of my boys love it, even the one who usually gives his bread to the dogs. It is soft enough to use for sandwiches but flavorful enough to eat alone. I don't keep dry milk or shortening in my kitchen, so I use 1C water + 1/8C skim milk as well as olive oil in place of shortening. If your bread is too dense, you probably used too much flour. The texture comes out best if you weigh out your flour instead of measuring by volume. Right now (winter in Minnesota) 375g is perfect. In humid weather the weight of flour needed will increase slightly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
Excellent Honey Wheat Bread. Making a 2nd loaf right now. I think this will be our go to sandwich bread recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
My whole family loved this bread. We also substituted butter for the shortening and used 1 cup of white and 2 cups of whole wheat flour instead of 3 cups of whole wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 657) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States