Whole Wheat Honey Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
Hearty, healthy, delicious bread! This is great if you're looking for those three attributes... it's not for everyone, as it's pretty dense. I wanted homemade bread (I've been on a bread-making kick the last few months) that was nutritious and this fit the bill! It reminds me of Brownberry or even Ezekiel bread. I made this by hand and found it to be quite sticky...so much honey! Excuse me while I go slice myself another piece... :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
This is very good bread. I make this once a week and learned to weigh my shortening at 0.65 on my food scale. It's easier for me then getting it off measuring spoons. I use one cup of bread flour and 2 cups of whole wheat when kids visit, it's more like what they buy at the store and they finish off a loaf and want more. So simple to make will let them make a loaf next time they visit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
I found my/THE bread recipe-this is going to sit at the top of my breadmaker recipe box as a go-to everyday all purpose "healthy" bread. Love the fact that it uses all whole wheat flour and basic simple ingredients to yield the perfect bread for sandwiches, toast and even grilled cheese. I've tried other wheat breads which have come out with a dry texture-this one is perfect. It's hearty and sturdy (won't fall apart like some egg bread recipes), cuts clean and is as smooth as the honey that goes in it! Like others I used vegetable oil instead of shortening....something about the combination of the milk powder and honey does this thing fine. This might not produce a loaf of bread with the rise of a bread flour recipe but it does indeed rise given time and patience and produces an OUTSTANDING whole wheat honey of a bread! Like I said, a KEEPER for me.....just bought a jar of honey for future use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RandyOSU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
This bread was delicious the second try. The first try it did not rise and did not cook in the center. I had followed the recipe but replaced the shortening with oil. However, the first time I followed my machine's directions on laying and the second time I followed CareyG's laying instructions on one of these reviews and it turned out perfectly and delicious the second time. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
This is delicious bread! I used light whole wheat flour and no dry milk powder (because I'm allergic to dairy and forgot to sub in some of my almond milk for the water) but everything else as directed. I used the light crust and basic whole wheat settings and it rose super high and was delicious. This is the first time I've used light crust and actually had it turn out lighter and thinner, especially on the sides. I really love this bread and know I'll be making this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
The last bread I had like this was when I was a kid. The best!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
Not certain if I did something wrong or if it is our breadmachine (Welbilt) but, this didn't rise above the .5 the container. Very disappointed will try a variation below.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
It did not turn out perfect for me, only made it once so far. The taste is very good, but the sides burnt and the crust is a bit harder than id like especially on the bottom, also it formed very strangely. Perhaps ill try a lighter setting and substitute some bread flour in next time i try it. Still one of the best recipes i have tried thus far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
Awesome :). My husband and family love the bread. I love reading all the comments so I can play around with this recipe and save money.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
Excellent bread. I did add vital gluten (1 tbs per cup of flour)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 670) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Whole Wheat and Honey Pizza Dough

See how to make healthy homemade whole wheat pizza dough.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States