Whole Wheat Honey Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
The last bread I had like this was when I was a kid. The best!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
Not certain if I did something wrong or if it is our breadmachine (Welbilt) but, this didn't rise above the .5 the container. Very disappointed will try a variation below.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
It did not turn out perfect for me, only made it once so far. The taste is very good, but the sides burnt and the crust is a bit harder than id like especially on the bottom, also it formed very strangely. Perhaps ill try a lighter setting and substitute some bread flour in next time i try it. Still one of the best recipes i have tried thus far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
Awesome :). My husband and family love the bread. I love reading all the comments so I can play around with this recipe and save money.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
Excellent bread. I did add vital gluten (1 tbs per cup of flour)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
Best wheat bread Iv made so far! the only thing I did different was I used butter not shortening, and I followed Flannery suggestion and added the vital wheat gluten wonderful texture and taste... sweet and light. Next time I will make it on the white setting, on my machine it came out a little to brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Suffolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
Awesome Bread!! Soft and fluffy! I used Butter instead of shortening and it came out with a wonderful flavor. I also made this a 1 pound loaf and did light crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
Good riddance, store-bought bread! Couldn't be happier with how this turned out! There's a similar recipe on this site called "Honey Whole Wheat Bread" that calls for basically the same ingredients, except 1/2 bread flour and 1/2 whole wheat flour. I was happy to find this one with all whole wheat flour (bread flour is not whole grain, whereas whole wheat flour is). Anyway, it turned out wonderfully! Soft, moist, whole grainy goodness with just a hint of sweet. Also, I substituted vegetable oil for the shortening. I'd like to try e.v. olive oil next time and see how it does. One note - a lot of people complained about it not rising, etc. - I had no problems at all with my Breadman bread machine. Don't know why they did? My guess is they may have not layered the ingredients into the machine in the order they should have. Make sure to put the wet ingredients into the maker first (including the salt). Then, on top of the wet ingredients add the flour. Make a fairly shallow little indentation in the top of the flour (maybe 1/2" deep) with your finger and pour the yeast into that little groove. This keeps the yeast away from the salt and water until it's ready to be mixed in. Once you've layered the ingredients properly, shut the lid, choose the setting (1.5 lb whole wheat loaf), and press start! Voila!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
Pretty good recipe. Very tasty but would not rise properly as stated. Followed another reviewer's advice and added 3 tbsp wheat gluten and subbed the shortening for canola oil (2 tbsp). Wow! Made an amazing loaf of bread!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
This has become my go to recipe for sandwich bread. Following the advice of other reviewers, I added 3 tablespoons wheat gluten, use butter instead of the shortening, and I substitute 1 cup of bread flour and 2 cups of white whole wheat. It bakes up super fluffy, and wrapped in foil, it stays soft for days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 655) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States