Whole Wheat Honey Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
This really IS as good as everyone has said! I didn't have the powdered milk so I did one cup water and 1/4 cup buttermilk. As it was mixing it the dough looked really wet, so I added a palmful more of flour; it still looked wet, but I left it alone. So glad I did! Crust is...crusty, and inside is nice and moist. My bread knife slices right through this bread as though it were store-bought. Will make regularly! I have an old, second-hand bread machine, and I used the "White Medium, 2 lb." setting, as previous reviewers had mentioned the crust being too dark - worked perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadaFun

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Love this recipe & so does my whole family including my finicky 2 year old. I made some adjustments and substituted dry GOAT'S milk for the regular milk and coconut oil for the shortening and it turned out great. I also added the wet ingredients first, but included the salt with that as others indicated. I heated up the water until almost boiling before adding it to the machine, and that seemed to do the trick getting the yeast to rise because it did so nicely. I used the Basic and Light settings on the bread machine and it turned out a beautiful golden brown on the outside while tender on the inside. I really wouldn't change anything other than possibly more honey if you want a sweeter more dessert-like bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
The bread turned out even better than I'd hoped! Per others' suggestions, I substituted 1/8 of milk and 1 cup of water for the dry milk powder and 1-1/8 cup of water. I also replaced the shortening with olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
I'm new to bread making in the bread machine...but to me this recipe was very good. Like reviewers suggested I put my machine on Basic instead of whole wheat. I also programmed it to "Light". I added the salt w/ the wet ingredients which I added first and also substituted the dry milk w/ an 1/8 cup of regular milk. Bread was fairly dense but quite moist and I enjoyed the slightly sweeter flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
This is the whole wheat sandwich bread you have been looking for! I have made many whole wheat breads over the years in my breadmaker, committed to making as many of my own foods as possible. They were good, but never like this. This is the soft, spongy, hearty whole wheat sandwich bread that you buy at the store. I only made 3 small changes. I added 3 T vital wheat gluten, used butter instead of shortening, and used the basic or the white setting instead of whole wheat. The bad thing is I can't tell you how long it lasts (although honey is a natural preservative) because it doesn't last long enough in my house to tell. I've made 3 loaves already this week and given the recipe to 2 friends who love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
This was super tasty and not at all without flavour. In fact it was a million times better than a lot of recipes I've made. The only thing I wasn't sure about was that it sunk a bit after it came out of the breadmaker. It looked beautiful when it came out though and tasted amazing. I'm not sure if it was me or the recipe, or my breadmaker that caused the sinkage...I did put it on a timer overnight, so that could be it. All in all a fantastic whole wheat bread recipe. This will be my staple recipe now. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Naomi Winter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
This is an extraordinarily delicious loaf. Made this in the Zojirushi 2lb bread maker on the 'basic wheat' setting. I adjusted the yield to 16 servings from 12 to accomodate the larger machine, used butter in place of shortening, and instead of dried milk powder, I substituted 1/2 cup of the water with whole milk. The flour used was Daisy Flour's whole wheat Warthog bread flour. This is one of the best breads I have ever experienced. The crust is perfectly crisp and brown, and the inside is a beautifully fine texture. The flavor is brilliant, and the bread seems absurdly versatile. Great for breakfast with a little jam, perfect for sandwiches (the sweetness of the honey is subtle enough not to overpower any toppings), and just tried it with a bit of nutella- dessert works too! Thank you for this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
I was looking for a whole wheat recipe that is not as dense and heavy as the one in my bread machine's cookbook, and this fit the bill perfectly. The loaf came out looking and smelling beautiful, and when I took it out of the pan it felt so light and perfect. A warm piece with butter on it confirmed that this is my new every day recipe. I will probably make it twice a week b/c it will get eaten so quickly around here. Thank you for this wonderful bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
I read most of the reviews before trying this recipe. I used butter instead of shortening. I made sure that the salt didn't kill the yeast. I could not add the vital wheat gluten because I did not have any, but I would certainly try it in other recipes in the future. As for this recipe, I am not a fan. It is too, too sweet. I did not enjoy the flavor at all. Not to burst anyone's bubble, but this bread is not as healthy as some of the reviewers are making it out to be. It is nutritionally the same as white bread because the grains of wheat have already been ground (into flour) rather than left whole. Until I can find a decent recipe for whole grain bread, I think I will stick with my store-bought Ezekiel bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
This bread was beyond yummy and moist and sweet. The most delicious wheat bread I have made. However, 3 cups of flour was definitely not enough. I had to increase it to 4 cups. This may be due to the fact that I was using home milled fresh flour but just be aware to check your dough during the first kneading to see if it is too wet. If it's soupy, it's too wet;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 655) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States