Whole Wheat Honey Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
I love this bread! It's worth a second try if the first run fails. I'm not sure if it's my conditions or my fresh milled flour (hard white wheat this time), but most recipes fail as written for me. In this case I added 2 tablespoons of vital wheat gluten and used only a cup of water. Also I used the basic/light crust setting. The taste was spot on. I need to tweak the water a little more as the sweet spot is somewhere between 1 c and 1 and 1/8th c for me, but I will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
I love this bread. Never thought that Whole wheat could be so delicious!! Still i fail sometimes that the dough doesnt rise enough.try to change the order of putting ingredients and so on. Thinking of it makes me crave for it again thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
Very, very good. Doesn't even need topping to be delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
This bread turns out perfectly every time. I grind my own hard wheat and add 1 Tbsp of wheat gluten to the recipe. I have also added sunflower seeds and the family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Mmmm, tasty! And so easy! I think this will become a weekly staple at our house. I did not substitute any ingredients, but did add in a small handful of cracked wheat to the mix. I added the salt into the warm water - not sure that made a difference or not for rising, but my loaf rose perfectly and had a perfect crust. I set my machine on the standard white loaf 2 lb cycle. The only trouble I ran across was trying to get the loaf out after it had cooked. The bottom was a little stuck, but it eventually released.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
Best bread recipe ever. Perfect density for thin or thick slicing. Nice and moist. Great flavor. I will never buy store bread again when this is so easy to make, tastes amazing, and is perfect for anything such as grilled cheese sandwiches to toast. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
This bread was awesome!! It came out perfectly in my bread machine. I also added a handful of wheat bran with the flour. We had some with dinner tonight and it's moist, flavorful and so good. Definitely a keeper!! Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
A great bread!! Love the smell when you cut into the loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill Atkins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
My son's can be picky eaters but this is one thing they will eat anytime! Plus it is healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manhattan, New York, USA
Living In: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
I followed this recipe except for using butter for the shortening. Some whole wheat recipes can be either super dry and dense or just too light and insubstantial ~ this one struck a perfect balance. I found it to be moist, tender and light but with just the right balance of heartiness. The honey gives it just a touch of sweetness and great color. It's great toasted and for sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 71-80 (of 655) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States