Whole Wheat Honey Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
A great bread!! Love the smell when you cut into the loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill Atkins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
My son's can be picky eaters but this is one thing they will eat anytime! Plus it is healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manhattan, New York, USA
Living In: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
I followed this recipe except for using butter for the shortening. Some whole wheat recipes can be either super dry and dense or just too light and insubstantial ~ this one struck a perfect balance. I found it to be moist, tender and light but with just the right balance of heartiness. The honey gives it just a touch of sweetness and great color. It's great toasted and for sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
The best whole wheat dough I've made yet! My bread machine does not have a ww dough cycle, so I kneaded it a bit longer and let it rise for longer as well. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Great taste. I would like to adapt the recipe to 2 lb...any suggestions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
This is a very good basic bread machine recipe. I have made a few changes and am now very happy with how it is turning out. I changed the 3 cups of whole wheat flour to 2 cups and then added 1/2 cup quinoi flour, 1/4 cup milled flaxseed and 1/4 cup kasha. It adds more complexity to the flavours. I reduced the honey from 1/3 cup to a scant 1/4 cup as I don't like bread to taste sweet. I substituted olive oil for shortening as it is a healthier oil. It does come out very dense but I don't mind that at all. We just slice it more thinly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
Made this bread twice. The first time as written, and it is indeed 5 star. The second time I took another reviewer's suggestions; I mixed 3 Tbsp. wheat gluten to the flour, used butter instead of shortening, added the salt to the water (not the flour) so as not to kill the yeast, and used setting 1 (light, white bread.) It is phenomenal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
This bread was wonderfully moist. I took the advice of a couple of others who baked this bread by using 2 cups whole wheat flour and one cup bread flour. I also made sure the temp. of the water was 120 degrees, and I put in on the light crust, white bread cycle for the 1.5 pound loaf. It is perfect. My kids eat it like they've never had fresh bread before! The crust is not too crunchy, and the bread is not too dense, as would be the case if I used all 3 cups of whole wheat flour as the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
The bread was delicious, but unfortunately no one was there to remove the bread from the bread machine when it had finished baking. The whole loaf sunk into a dense block. It was still moist and had a great honey taste! I used oil instead of shortening and 1 Tbsp milk + 1 c. water + 1 Tbsp. water instead of the milk powder and water. The yeast was also a 2.25 tsp package, I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Purple Baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
I found this bread to be almost sickeningly sweet. I did make it again, however, but I only used about 1 tbsp of honey. It turned out much better. I also added 1/4 cup of wheat gluten to make it lighter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 668) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Whole Wheat and Honey Pizza Dough

See how to make healthy homemade whole wheat pizza dough.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States