Whole Wheat Ginger Snaps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
Seems weird to review my own recipe but I had to make a subsitution last time I bake these that is worth sharing. First these are my families favorite cookies. I was making up a batch and realized I didn't have any molasses. I used pure maple syrup instead and heaped the spices a little more than I usually do. To my surprise they were quite good. My youngest daughter wouldn't even try them because they were a golden color and not brown like "gingernaks" are supposed to be. Eventually she gave in and loved them as much as the originals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
125 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2005
These were WONDERFUL! Since I'm switching to whole wheat recipes, I've had to get rid of most so many white flour recipes! But I'm SO happy to not have to give up gingersnaps, which I LOVE! I used 1/2 cup butter & 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce instead of 1 cup butter. I switched around the ginger & cinnamon amounts because I love cinnamon! Baking time was 8 min. I might chill the dough before baking as the dough was kind of hard to roll into balls. Thanks for a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
This has become one of my favorite recipes. I work in the bakery on my college campus and I made these for the director of the dining services once and that was that - now they're on the regular menu and I make them for students all the time :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2005
I was a bit puzzled by these cookies. When I tasted them fresh from the oven, something about the taste seemed "off". But then the longer they sat out (I didn't even cover them, they were so moist) the better they tasted. My ultra-picky boyfriend tried one and said, "It's sandy inside," but my father LOVES them. They are very filling cookies and have a nice, complex flavor. The sugar on top of the cracked surface is very pretty. I like how they're thick and chewy, plus somewhat healthier with the whole wheat. The only modifications I made were adding one cup of brown sugar and 1/2 white sugar, plus a little less flour than called for. Check them early because my first batch burned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
These were great! I like chewy cookies and these fit the bill. My hubby and two littles ones loved them too! They are very spicy and delicious. Be sure to let them cool completely before storing them as they have a tendency to stick together if too warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KERI DIANA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2005
This is a wonderful recipe! No one could tell that it was mad ewith wheat flour. I made a few alterations: I used 1/2 cup of honey, 1/2 cup of splenda, and 1/2 cup of brown sugar for the white sugar in this recipe and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
Excellent and thanks for sharing. The cookies are moist and delicious, sometimes I add soft candied Ginger for an extra kick. Every time I make this, usually at Christmas for my husband, I buy a new bottle of ground ginger. This guarantees great gingery cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Delicious! Subbed 1 cup white sugar and 1/2 cup brown sugar for the 1 1/2 cups of white sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TTV78
Reviewed: May 15, 2010
YAY!! A homemade ginger snap recipe that we love!! The Hubster & I are both BIG fans of ginger snaps and these hit the spot! The spices are perfect and we devoured nearly two dozen in one evening. :) I took the advice of another reviewer & used apple sauce for half of the butter called for. It was the only change I made & it worked out great! I'm sure the full amount of butter would only make these more awesome, I just wouldn't eat as many! :P I halved the recipe and my batch made 36 perfect sized cookies. Thank you SO much for sharing this recipe! Will make again & again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TTV78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Milpitas, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
This is a great recipe, I love this cookies, I make the recipe to 30 servings and change 1/2 cup molasses and 3/4 cup white sugar by 26 packets of Splenda and use margarine light. This recipe is great to diabetes people and syndrom X.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Guatemala City, Guatemala, Guatemala

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States