Whole Wheat Ginger Snaps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
These were good. I got several compliments on them. I'm trying to get away from using white flour as much as possible, so this was a perfect recipe. My only problem was that mine seemed to be a little flat. I'm going to give it a second try to see if I can make them thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinCarrie
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Love, love, love these! Of all of the christmas cookies I made this year, these were my favorites! Thank you for the recipe. A real keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
WOW! Hands down the best gingersnaps Ive ever made! I prefer this recipe over my grandmothers' that I make every Christmas! Thank you for sharing. I find it hard to have a good tasting cookie when there is any amount of whole wheat flour added... and in these I cant even tell! I am excited to share these with my family Christmas eve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Awesome. Loved the whole-wheat flavor. My boyfriend claimed he could tell they were "healthier" but he still said he loved them and they disappeared pretty fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Let me say up front: I am not a good cookie baker. I'm always afraid they will be underbaked and so I consistently overbake them. However, I made these exactly as written (save for the cloves, which I don't care for) baked them for the full 15 minutes and they are absolutely PERFECT!!! Yay me! I wish I'd had coarse sugar, as that would have shown up better after baking, but they still have the perfect cracks and taste great! I love this recipe and thank you for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
THESE ARE SOOOOOOO GOOD! I made the following changes: subbed half of the butter for unsweetened applesauce and cut the sugar by 1/4 cup. I used a melon baller, so my cookies were smaller than normal, but a great size for an after dinner cookie or small snack. I dipped some of the cookies in sugar for decoration to see the difference. While they do look prettier (think fairy princess), it's an unnecessary step. To get the cookie crisper, you can also mash them with a spoon a little. Mine didn't change shape from the time I put them in the oven. Thanks for this amazing, non-guilty pleasure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eatsREALfood

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rogersville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
These tasted amazing, and were very easy to make either crispy or chewy. I made them without the ground cloves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
YUM YUM YUM: my first completely whole-wheat cookie and they were gone within an hour of coming out of the oven! Added more ginger and cinnamon than the recipe called for which worked out wonderfullly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Delicious! Subbed 1 cup white sugar and 1/2 cup brown sugar for the 1 1/2 cups of white sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
I used Blackstrap molasses, that might have been a bitter mistake but followed the rest of the recipe to a T. Chill dough in fridge in between batches, makes it easier to roll in your palm. My slightly chewy cookies were about the size of a truffle prior to cooking 11 minutes @ 350 degrees. Also rolled entire cookie in pure cane sugar rather than just the top as the recipe suggests. My toddler LOVES them - and I love being able to give him homemade cookies made from whole wheat flour! Will try next time with a different kind of molasses or perhaps maple syrup as the recipe "owner" suggests in her updated review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 184) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States