Whole Wheat Ginger Snaps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
They're not bad. I used maple syrup and added more cinnamon, which was fine, but they still tasted a little wheaty to me and were more thick, than chewy. I really wanted a nice chewiness to it, but didn't get that. Maybe it needs more butter or something?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
I needed to make a few adjustments because of a shortage of ingredients. I halved the recipe, but didn't have enough molasses by about a 1/6 of a cup and used sorgham molasses instead (found only in the South. It's not quite as sweet) and next time I might add more spiceage. Same amount of ginger and nutmeg, but a little more clove and cinnamon. My cookies felt like they had wheat bran in them due to the course cut of my whole wheat which while exceptional in bread, made for a cookie with a bran-y texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Callista

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA
Living In: Sonoma, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
These are amazing! I made them from my roommates right before I flew out for Christmas, but now I'm making them again for myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
A new family favorite! My 6 year old has asked me to make them twice since the first time. Perfect recipe just as is, and less guilt with the whole wheat. I have also tried the maple syrup substitution, which gave them a slightly milder flavor, but still wonderful cookies. Thanks, Mrs. Daycare!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Living In: Pudong, Shanghai (Municipality) , China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I did not use cloves, these are the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
These were good. I got several compliments on them. I'm trying to get away from using white flour as much as possible, so this was a perfect recipe. My only problem was that mine seemed to be a little flat. I'm going to give it a second try to see if I can make them thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinCarrie
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Love, love, love these! Of all of the christmas cookies I made this year, these were my favorites! Thank you for the recipe. A real keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
WOW! Hands down the best gingersnaps Ive ever made! I prefer this recipe over my grandmothers' that I make every Christmas! Thank you for sharing. I find it hard to have a good tasting cookie when there is any amount of whole wheat flour added... and in these I cant even tell! I am excited to share these with my family Christmas eve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Awesome. Loved the whole-wheat flavor. My boyfriend claimed he could tell they were "healthier" but he still said he loved them and they disappeared pretty fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Let me say up front: I am not a good cookie baker. I'm always afraid they will be underbaked and so I consistently overbake them. However, I made these exactly as written (save for the cloves, which I don't care for) baked them for the full 15 minutes and they are absolutely PERFECT!!! Yay me! I wish I'd had coarse sugar, as that would have shown up better after baking, but they still have the perfect cracks and taste great! I love this recipe and thank you for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States