Whole Wheat Ginger Snaps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
Delicious! You'd never know they were whole wheat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TMPNorth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thompson, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
Easy to make, delicious to eat! I switched out the 1-1/2 cups of white sugar for 1 cup brown, 1/2 cup white, and then used turbinado sugar for decoration. I also used a full flavor rather than a mild molasses. This recipe is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jazzncatz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
I just made these for a work baby shower and they turned out awesome! Still getting rave reviews from coworkers today. I followed the recipe exactly, baked for 12.5 minutes on sheets with silicon mats. I definitely didn't get the "grittiness" others are mentioning by using whole wheat flour. Perfect with coffee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
Love it!!! Turned out so soft and chewy, definitely a new family favorite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
What can I say about this recipe? I have been looking for a soft ginger cookie for nigh onto thirthy years....something to rival a cookie I used to enjoy as a child. In this little number I have finally found it and more! My childhood cookies were not made with whole wheat, so that was an added bonus! These are TO DIE FOR! Just like Goldilocks said, these are "Just right!" Spicy, Chewy, Moist and DELICIOUS! Thank you ever-so-much! My only caviat is to make sure your whole wheat flour and spices are not stale, which might be why one reviewer said they were sandy. Given that the ingrediets are fresh, this recipe is excellent as is with no changes to the recipe. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
Never made these before - will definitely make the Christmas cookie list this year:) Tried them out, as a friend requested SOFT ginger snaps as a birthday gift. (I always make people their fave cookie for their birthday.) The dough was a royal pain in the neck, though. Followed the recipe to a T up until I started working with the dough. Ended up adding another 1/4 cup of flour. Wish I'd known I needed to chill the dough first because I really didn't have time for that. However, they're a hit at home, and with my birthday friend!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Dundas, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
Great recipe, however I thought 1 T baking soda seemed odd, so I used 1 t. Also used raw sugar, which doesn't always work in some cookie recipes, but terrific in and on these. I love the way the larger grains look and taste on the finished product as well. Thanks! It's a keeper:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori Romig

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
These were delicious! I made them exactly as the recipe called for. I baked the first batch at 12 minutes---too long. I made the second batch at 10 minutes and they were prefectly soft and chewy. My coworkers loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Very tasty! I did substitute applesauce for half of the butter and my batter was rather sticky even after refrigerating, but these cookies turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
These are VERY GOOD. A perfect ginger snap cookie, better than the store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States