Whole Wheat Ginger Snaps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
I followed the recipe almost exactly as written. I reduced the cloves to 1 teaspoon and added 3/4 teaspoon black pepper. I baked my cookies on parchment lined double layer baking sheets, making the balls the size of small meatballs for a yield of 52 cookies. Baking time was 14 minutes for a soft texture. I'll definitely make them again, but next time I'll try adding some orange zest, and reducing the sugar and butter just a bit and replacing with healthier options.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn K-S

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sarnia, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
These are fantastic - will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Ann Kearney-Danboise

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oneida, New York, USA
Living In: Massena, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Excellent! 1 cup butter = 240 gr (Replaced half with applesause) Replaced molasses with 1 tbs molasas and the rest silan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
O man I made these today for my son's birthday party and everyoned LOVED them. Many compliments, exactly what I was aiming for. Can't even tell they're whole wheat. Thanks so much! I'll be making these every Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
My favorite ginger snap recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
These are really good. You can't tell they are healthy. However, I do mix a splash of water with some confectioners sugar and ice the tops. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
These are delicious!! I'm trying to bake more with whole wheat flour (I don't even have white flour in the house) so it was a wonderful surprise to see these. I altered it just a little, instead of 1 cup of butter I used 1/2 cup smart balance and 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce, I didn't use the full cup of molasses either just because I didn't have enough, and I didn't add cloves because it's not something I have in the house but they still turned out great. I flattened them on the cookie sheet to make them thin and cooked them a little longer because I like my ginger snaps crispy. These are great with a big glass of milk!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
Fantastic! I didn't have allspice so I bumped up the ginger and nutmeg. I also mixed some sprinkles in with the sugar for the topping and they looked very festive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
I made this recipe without any changes to the ingredients or measurements, except that I opted for unsalted butter and I ground up allspice, clove, and nutmeg in a coffee grinder, which I think provides a little stronger flavor than pre-ground. It was easier to roll them in sugar than just dip the tops. I also baked them on parchment paper so they are easier to lift off the pan. Warm, they were a little chewy in the center and had a nice crunch around the edges. I stored them right away in a tupperware, so hopefully they will retain a little bit of that chewiness when they fully cool off. I love that this recipe uses whole wheat flour, and I am keeping these in the regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
GREAT!!!!! I got my son and his girlfriend a gingerbread cookie jar and I will put these in it ....they love gingerbread and I know they will love this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dede Mac
Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States