Whole Wheat Ginger Snaps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
Just made these. Hard to say what I think about them. The taste was perfect - nice and spicy. The texture, not bad. The edges were hard after cooking and cooling but the rest was chewy. They were completely flat once cooked, but that could be from over mixing the batter. Any time I hear about flat cookies, I've always been told it's from over mixing. Cooked them on the top wrack at 300 for 12 minutes. The batter was quite sticky, too sticky to roll. So I tried 2 things: wetting my hands as little as possible so the dough wouldn't stick to me and putting the batter in the fridge in between batches to firm it up. Both weren't great. The only other thing I would do next time is to add a little more flour. When I went to roll the balls with wet hands, the ball was coated in water (of course), and therefore the sugar on the top dissolved almost completely before it was even in the oven. I think if I make this again I will BOTH put the batter in the fridge for a while to firm it up and add more flour so that the batter is more crumbly. I'm giving it 4 stars and not less based on my reviews because the end result could've been my fault, not the recipe's. Overall, worth another shot with some tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
These cookies are unbelievable! No one would ever guess they are made with whole wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brockton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
I'm always looking for ways to use our fresh ground wheat flour. We love gingersnaps so I thought I'd try these. They are a strongly flavored cookie (especially when you use high quality spices as I do) which I love. These have a lot more molasses than most ginger snap recipes. The only problem I had with these is that the dough was very soft and they flattened out more than I like. I tried chilling the dough but that didn't help them stay thicker, though it was easier to roll them into balls. I think I'll try tinkering with my old ginger snap recipe but add this combination of spices because I really liked that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Webster City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
Excellent cookies! I dropped the unbaked cookie balls into turbinado sugar before placing them into the oven. The cookies baked up beautifully, all chewy and spicy. These are the best molasses, spice cookies that I have ever made. A total winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by queennana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kannapolis, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
Delicious! I appreciated the comment about substituting maple syrup for the molasses. I was 1/4 cup short of molasses and the maple syrup worked perfectly. Taking them to a picnic with homemade ice cream. Should be a good combo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
I luv this recipe. Allrecipes is the best!! I made it with my friend and we had a blast. These cookies are life changers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
A little too spicy for me so next time I'll drop the spices by 1/4 tsp. However, no one can tell these are whole wheat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by justynajd
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
Delicious and easy to make. I added some brown sugar for some extra kick and they turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
This cookie was OK, but nothing great. It was grainier than expected. It would be better to not use all whole wheat flour I believe. And there was no way these were rolling into balls. I refrigerated briefly, but still had to add more flour. But, it's not just the flour that's the problem. The other spices cover up the ginger taste too much. If I make again, I will have to try to figure out which spices, other than ginger, I need to cut back on (maybe all of them). Another problem I had was that the cookies didn't keep their shape, they just melted into large circles. The cookies stayed chewy after cooking, which was good. I took some other reviewers advice and substituted 1/2 cup brown sugar for white. I like the idea that they are whole wheat, but I think I'd rather have a white flour or mixed flour version that tasted better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
Great recipe! Child friendly as well, they stay nice a soft (with a little crunch on the top from the sugar) so even my 12 month old was able to enjoy them. Since they're made with whole wheat they're not quite as bad for him as some as well. Will definitely make again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States