Whole Wheat Ginger Snaps Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
These cookies have a very nice flavor. I use heaping spice measurements and the flavor is delightful. The whole wheat flour is fantastic! My cookies spread out a lot and are very thin (even after adding more flour and chilling) but they still have a nice texture. Crispy on the edges and chewy in the middle. I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
I am munching on the first batch that came out of the oven (yummm!!) and these are divine. You can't even tell they were made with whole wheat flour. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
I made these for a pregnant friend who was having bad morning sickness. When I was making them, I ran out of molasses, so I used honey to make up the rest (it turned out to be about half and half). I also added ground ginger to the sugar and rolled the balls in that. I made them again for my family, this time with all the molasses and I found the molasses flavor too strong (I use blackstrap, though, so that could be why). Everyone who has tried any from the first batch has said they are the best ginger cookies they have ever had- ever. I would have to agree. These will be a staple in our house. Thank you for a most excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2009
These are awesome! No one can tell that they are made with whole wheat flour, and they deliciously spicy. Great use of my whole wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
Delicious! I swapped out the white sugar for brown to make them more chewy, and left out the allspice and cloves (as I didn't have them). I also added 1/2 tsp of salt. They did spread quite a bit, but the taste definitely made up for it! Thanks for the keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KBots

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
Thanks for sharing the recipe. I've always liked ginger snaps, but I love that these are chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
Awesome! Only had 1/2 cup molasses so I used maple syrup to supplement. Also, skipped the allspice because I didn't have any. Use 1/2 cup white sugar and 1/2 cup brown. Very tasty, especially with a cup of coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
The tops of these cookies "crackle" much as snickerdoodles do, but with the taste of unmistakable ginger. These are quite spicy for gingersnaps, with an afterbite (kick).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
These cookies are amazing. Nice kick to them. You cannot tell they are whole wheat like you can with some other cookie recipes. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Lynn  Pullman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Butte, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
This is a great recipe! The cookies turned out moist and soft. I put the dough into the freezer for 20 minutes prior to rolling into balls. I also like my cookies soft, so I cooked for 8 minutes. I made smaller cookies, so one batch produced 120 perfect cookies. I made some alterations as others have. I used 1 stick butter and 1/2 cup applesauce. I also used 1/2 cup white sugar, 1/2 cup brown sugar splenda, and 1/2 cup splenda for baking. I didn't have ground all spice, so I added additional cinnamon. Even with the alterations this recipe was fabulous. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States