Whole Wheat Drop Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2006
Good and VERY easy. I served them with gravy. Without any toppings, I thought the flavor was a tiny bit lacking. If it weren't for the flavor I would have given them 5 stars. The texture was very moist a little dense but that is typical of whole wheat and one of the reasons why I prefer it. I did add a bit more milk (I used cow's milk). I also only got 9 large biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2006
This was really good! I added a tablespoon of sugar and a touch more milk. just tastey!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2006
dry and tasteless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by outnumbered
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Flowery Branch, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2006
I loved these biscuits! I only used whole wheat flour, which made them a little denser, so I increased the baking time slightly. They went great with soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fruit Heights, Utah, USA
Living In: Cheney, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2006
These were wonderful. I'd been addicted to making regular biscuits (J.P.'s from this site) and managed to severely deplete my all purpose flour supply. I used a cup of each, and used olive instead of canola oil. I also added 1 tsp. of white sugar. They were a little crumbly, but no more than your average drop biscuit. My son LOVED them, and they were great with the chicken and rice soup I made. Oh. I used regular 1% milk too. I'm not vegan, so soy milk just isn't in the pantry! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eileen in OK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Henrietta, New York, USA
Living In: Spiro, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
Very tasty! I used olive oil and added a teaspoon of sugar. These were great with vegan chili. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
I am trying to prepare more healthy options so I used only the wheat flour and made a triple batch - using olive oil and skim milk. The amount of milk the conversion gave, as well as the baking powder, wasn't quite enough. I liked it and the kids seemed to as well, tho my husband requested the 1/2 white flour next time. This is the first whole wheat recipe I enjoyed. Please note, my biscuits didn't rise with just whole wheat flour but they were still a nice consistancy. Looked like rocks but not hard!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carisa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
These turned out yummy! I substituted an Oat Bran Blend (Hodgeson Mills) flour for the Whole wheat flour, made them more golden and a little sweeter. They don't puff up alot, but they are not heavy either. My kids and I ate them with strawberry jam for an afternoon snack -- they just disappeared. I dropped them by heaping tablespoon onto the cookie sheet and ended up with 12, not 16. My kids have asked me to make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
Really impressed, we had everything but the whole wheat. Not a fan of shortening, made them within 10 minutes of reading the recipe, added honey instead of sugar and a little extra soy. Made huge biscuits, cooked evenly and fluffy and tasted great! Ate them with sausage and gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Smith, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Springdale, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
This is a great recipe. It is so easy, which is great because my three year old loves to help in the kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Vegan Whole Wheat Biscuits

Use coconut oil and almond milk to create totally vegan biscuits.

Whole Grain Waffles

See how truly delicious whole grain waffles can be.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States