Whole Wheat Drop Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
Loved 'em! I used all whole-wheat flour, and I added a dollop of honey ... the dough was sticky, but I patted it out and cut the biscuits, anyway ... I'm just not crazy about "drop" anything ... just used enough flour on the counter and dough to get the job done ... they baked up fluffy and golden ... I didn't think they were dense at all ... they warmed up well, too ... I had them for a few breakfasts! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ellijay, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2007
Quick and easy. I 1/2ed the recipe and only used whole wheat flour. I should have used more milk (I used skim).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DawnT77

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2007
My family really enjoyed these, especially with honey on top! I used regular 1% milk and added a T. of honey to the batter. Easy and quick, and so much healthier than anything made with shortening. Thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REBEKAHMO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springdale, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Rogers, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
These are pretty average. They're great as a starter biscuit and from here you can go ahead and add whatever you may want on your biscuit. However, as a stand alone, they're pretty bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
I used olive oil instead of canola oil, and added a little honey. The biscuits turned out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
These were light and fluffy, but a bit on the salty side. I would cut back on the salt, maybe to 1/2-3/4 teaspoon. I used 50/50 whole wheat/white flour (already premixed flour) and regular milk. VERY easy though. Also might add 1/2 cup oats next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakingBot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2007
I rolled out the dough and cut with a cookie cutter rather than using the drop method. Pretty good biscuit---I like that they had whole wheat! They were really flat but that is the w.w. in there. Thanks for the recipe! Reminds me of 'English Degestives' my mom used to make us. PS Used reg. milk as I do not stock soy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patrick Luce

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2007
These came out really well for me, though I added a little sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2007
It's hard to believe all these reviews are for the biscuits that I made following this recipe. I thought they were AWFUL--dry, tasteless and nothing but horrible round lumps of baked dough. And they looked NOTHING like that picture. Very deceiving. I was attracted to them because I am trying to incorporate more whole wheat into our diet, but I will go back to my old recipe and make my own adjustments. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2007
Like the recipe, altho my biscuits still aren't perfect --it's a practice thing, I'm sure, not the recipe. I did used sweetened soy milk, probably not much difference. Anyhow,these are my tastiest biscuits yet! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Vegan Whole Wheat Biscuits

Use coconut oil and almond milk to create totally vegan biscuits.

E-Z Drop Biscuits

See how to make quick-and-easy drop biscuits from scratch.

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States