Whole Wheat Drop Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
Very good biscuits after a few modifications: I added 2 Tbs honey and 1/2 tsp cinnamon, substituted 1/4 cup of plain yogurt for the oil and only used 1/4 tsp of salt. Mine were perfect in 8 minutes (any longer would have been too long)...moist and delicious. I'll be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
Excellent and simple recipe! They baked up beautifully! The salt seemed pretty excessive, though, thus the 4 stars. I would recommend only using half of what it calls for. However, I have played with it and even made a sweet little treat tonight by putting in 1/4 of the salt, and adding 1T sugar, and 1/4t cinnamon. Like many have said, a great base recipe to play around with to suit your mood!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
I used olive oil and skim milk, and added some fresh chives and cheddar cheese. They were very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
Good healthy substitute for a biscuit. I used all wheat flour, regular skim milk and added a little bit of sugar to the batter. They were enjoyed by all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KellyChez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartland, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
Very easy and quick to make! A little too salty for my taste--next time I will use 1/2 tsp. of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Whitney
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
Pretty good and much healthier than prepackaged biscuits. Since I don't keep soy milk on hand, I used skim milk instead of soy. Since I didn't have all purpose flour (ran out), I used all whole wheat. I also added garlic, oregano, Italian seasoning, a bit of sugar and some cinnamon. I will make this again but would probably cut down on the oil by increasing the milk or adding water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whitney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Garland, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
this recipe was fantastic- I added ground flax seed and wheat germ, and about 1T of honey to the mixture. I also used 2% milk instead of soy- Thank you for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommaFuller

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
I didn't care for these. All I could taste was baking powder. Although they were easy, I won't be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RachtheBach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jasper, Missouri, USA
Living In: New Lenox, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
Very tasty, I made with 1/2 whole wheat and 1/2 oat flour that I ground myself from rolled oats. I also substituted olive oil for the canola. The only bad side was it was a touch salty (but my son did add extra salt (he's 3!). Very easy, great crumb, great to make with whole grains. overall, wonderful and super easy and cooked up great, just like white flour ones do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2007
These were fantastic! I needed a quick whole wheat biscuit recipe that didn't call for yeast or buttermilk. I added 2 tsp of sugar, but otherwise followed the recipe. They didn't need honey or jam or anything else. Perfect. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Cloud, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Vegan Whole Wheat Biscuits

Use coconut oil and almond milk to create totally vegan biscuits.

Whole Grain Waffles

See how truly delicious whole grain waffles can be.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States