Whole Wheat Drop Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
These biscuits turned out real good. I used all white flour and regular milk. However, I did not get 16 biscuits from the recipe - they would have to very small to get 16. I made 6 large ones. This one I will keep since I don't use shortening like other biscuit recipes use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
These were delicious!! I actually used sour cream instead of soy milk, so I had to add a little skim milk but then it worked great. Next time I'll try the flax seed, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: West Springfield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
Oh my! I found this great recipe when I did a search for whole wheat, egg-free biscuits for dinner tonight. I wouldn't have expected them to taste so yummy, but they were really, really good! I followed the recipe exactly, except for the addition of 3 tablespoons of sugar as suggested by another reviewer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
we really like these and they are so easy to make. i like to add two heaping tablespoons of ground flax seed, adds a butter flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
Quick, easy, very very good for breakfast or super type meals. I used 1.5 c WW and .5 all-purpose flour. My only substitution -because I had it - walnut oil. A mild neutral tasting oil? shouldn't even notice? But WOW there must have been something synergistic going on - it added a wonderful very subtle nutty flavor. Browned top and bottom and nicely moist inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
I just made these for breakfast! They are super easy, the dough handles like a dream, and they taste delicious. They're so light and flaky!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
These are great biscuits. I used all whole wheat flour and I loved them. I also added a dollap of honey. My family was not as impressed as I was, so next time I'll use all purpose and whole wheat, as the recipe states. I took another reviewer's advise and patted them out with a little flour then cut out the biscuits. We had them with beef stew and they were great with the sauce. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thomasville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
Delicious! I was skeptical about whole wheat biscuits, but these had that yummy whole-wheat nuttiness without being to heavy or dense. I did use skim milk instead of soy, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly and my whole family loved them. I do agree with a previous reviewer that the yield was more like 9 regular biscuits (about 2 1/2"-3" round) rather than 16. Thanks for a great recipe -- this one will definitely be a staple at our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tomi Ann Hill

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
These are very good, fast biscuits! I used olive oil since I didn't have canola, cow's skim milk and added a tsp of sugar. They turned out very tasty and are best with some butter or honey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
Great! I, too, added extra milk (I used whole cow milk), oil, and honey. I also added 1-2 Tbs garlic powder and 2 handfuls of shredded cheese. Yummy! Goes great with the chicken noodle soup I made for dinner! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by genkol79

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Vegan Whole Wheat Biscuits

Use coconut oil and almond milk to create totally vegan biscuits.

Whole Grain Waffles

See how truly delicious whole grain waffles can be.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States