Whole Wheat Drop Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
Great recipe- if you are worried about these being bland, just add 1 Tbsp of sugar. I thought the texture was great with soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
Very good. I replaced the oil with butter - personal preference. The biscuits had to cook for about 6 minutes longer than indicated. Perfect compliment to the barley soup I made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
Great vegan recipe!!! I was looking for a dairy-free biscuit recipe to serve "Strawberries with Balsamic Vinegar" (on this site) on top of. The small changes I made was to use almond/coconut milk and safflower oil, as well as add two tablespoons of raw organic sugar and some ground cinnamon and cardamom. Can't wait to make a savory version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
Very Delicious!! Thank you! I added about 1/4 cup of agave nectar and it turned out amazingly. I'll definately make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
These were excellent! I used what I had on hand - pastry flour instead of all-purpose flour and skim milk instead of soy milk - but even with substitutions these had a tender crumb and were light and airy. I added some garlic powder and basil along with the flour; very savory and delicious. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sicily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
These were pretty good, though I will agree with the others that they are a bit bland. I think next time, insead of using canola oil, I'll use butter. I also added a few Tbs more milk (skim cow milk), and a couple teaspoons of honey. I also had to bake them a lot longer than it said, but that was my fault for making them much too big.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Morehead, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
These biscuits turned out to be delightful. I used the recommended 1c. whole wheat flour but instead of using 1c. all purpose flour I used only 1/2c and also used 1/2c. milled flax seed. They had a nice nutty texture. Perfect with my vegan Gimme Lean "soysage" gravy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
These are so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Made these biscuits this morning with my daughter. They came out sooooo good. I have to admit though, they were kinda bland. But no one noticed. I made a gravy with cream of mushroom soup and Morningstar Mushroom Burgers. Poured it over the biscuits and YUMMY!! The kids had theirs with eggs and Morningstar Stripples. Overall, we enjoyed. I need to play with the flavor. But I'm so thankful to find a recipe without hydrogenated oils. THANK YOU!!! (I neglected to add that I too rolled them out and cut out the biscuits. Not thrilled about dropping them. My daughter loved it)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Wanted to use these for bacon, egg, & biscuit sandwiches. They tasted great!! Very crumbly, mouth watering. That was the only problem. They practically fell apart, making my experience a little difficult. I think it was, because I was out of butter, and substituted butter flavored crisco shortening. Was also out of soy milk, and used 2% milk instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Whole Wheat Biscuits

Use coconut oil and almond milk to create totally vegan biscuits.

E-Z Drop Biscuits

See how to make quick-and-easy drop biscuits from scratch.

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States