Whole Wheat Drop Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
Easy, peasy and so light and fluffy. I substituted skim milk for the soy (allergic to soy) and they turned out really well. We had these with my "clean the fridge out" soup and they were perfect. I also using the last of my on-hand whole wheat flour - now it looks like I'll have to buy more. Hub and I couldn't stop eating them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Felton, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
So I'm doing that thing where I review a recipe with some changes. Sorry, but I wanted to tailor it to my meal and our diet. I made the following changes: 2 cups whole wheat flour, 1/3 cup total of equal parts natural applesauce and oil, and 1 cup skim milk (replacing, respectively, the flours, oil, and soy milk). I also added 1 finely chopped sweet onion. They were excellent- moist and flavorful, insanely fast and easy, and made great snacks for a few days. A definite make-again, and you could easily mix in some chopped dried fruit and cinnamon to turn this into a breakfast biscuit. SO happy to bring this into the mix!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
I used this recipe for turkey dumpling soup. I didn't have any all purpose flour, so I used all wheat, but I added a couple tablespoons of vital wheat gluten to compensate. I made the dough and dropped it (in medium balls) on top of the soup, and they cooked beautifully. My husband isn't a fan of strong wheat flavor, but these were great and he loved them. Keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
So easy and delicious. In the batch I just made, I used 1c whole wheat flour and 1c garbanzo-fava flour (gluten-free), adding some ground flax seed to 'bind' the gluten-free flour. Also, I used 2 tbsp coconut oil and 2 tbsp vegetable oil instead of all canola oil, and vanilla almondmilk instead of soy milk, to produce a sweeter biscuit without added honey or agave nectar as I normally would. The lighter-density gluten-free flour produced a fluffier, less rock-like biscuit, and the added sweeter ingredients were a perfect touch to mask the bean flour taste. This fluffy, sweet batch was perfect with homemade peach-blackberry jam. My co-workers agree, even the ones who are not very health-conscious thought it was great. Thank you for a fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
I'll be honest, I had my doubts about this recipe. I tried it out since I have both dairy and egg allergic kids. I used olive oil instead of canola and I used coconut milk instead of soy. They were actually pretty good - easy too! Even my picky 2 year old who doesn't like anything liked it! I served it with soup, they were enjoyed by all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
These are soooooo good!!! I enjoy them most with raspberry jam or honey. Also, sometimes we add a few spoonfuls of orange juice concentrate, yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cupcake Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Franklinton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
A healthier alternative to other biscuit recipes. The flavor will vary with your choices of ingredients. If using a soy milk that has been sweetened, the biscuit makes a good replacement for a shortcake and is delicious topped with sliced strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annette P.

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
Great basic recipe! I used vanilla soymilk, and I added about a teaspoon or two of honey, and that gave it a very nice sweetness. I might cut down on the salt a little bit next time, it tasted like a tad too much, but still good. Instead of dropping spoonfuls, I just shaped into 8 biscuits and used them for mini-sandwiches (tuna salad), which worked nicely as a quick meal. To the person that said it tasted like baking powder - you probably didn't cook it right...I'm not sure why that would happen....it's the correct amount for a typical biscuit recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
They're OK. I used all whole wheat flour and almond milk. They taste like maybe they need a little less salt or baking powder. But I'll try them again with a little honey in the dough since they were so easy and goes well with soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
Great recipe- if you are worried about these being bland, just add 1 Tbsp of sugar. I thought the texture was great with soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Vegan Whole Wheat Biscuits

Use coconut oil and almond milk to create totally vegan biscuits.

E-Z Drop Biscuits

See how to make quick-and-easy drop biscuits from scratch.

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States