Whole Wheat Drop Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2006
These were wonderful. I'd been addicted to making regular biscuits (J.P.'s from this site) and managed to severely deplete my all purpose flour supply. I used a cup of each, and used olive instead of canola oil. I also added 1 tsp. of white sugar. They were a little crumbly, but no more than your average drop biscuit. My son LOVED them, and they were great with the chicken and rice soup I made. Oh. I used regular 1% milk too. I'm not vegan, so soy milk just isn't in the pantry! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eileen in OK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Henrietta, New York, USA
Living In: Spiro, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
These turned out yummy! I substituted an Oat Bran Blend (Hodgeson Mills) flour for the Whole wheat flour, made them more golden and a little sweeter. They don't puff up alot, but they are not heavy either. My kids and I ate them with strawberry jam for an afternoon snack -- they just disappeared. I dropped them by heaping tablespoon onto the cookie sheet and ended up with 12, not 16. My kids have asked me to make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2006
I loved these biscuits! I only used whole wheat flour, which made them a little denser, so I increased the baking time slightly. They went great with soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fruit Heights, Utah, USA
Living In: Cheney, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
Very tasty! I used olive oil and added a teaspoon of sugar. These were great with vegan chili. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
I am trying to prepare more healthy options so I used only the wheat flour and made a triple batch - using olive oil and skim milk. The amount of milk the conversion gave, as well as the baking powder, wasn't quite enough. I liked it and the kids seemed to as well, tho my husband requested the 1/2 white flour next time. This is the first whole wheat recipe I enjoyed. Please note, my biscuits didn't rise with just whole wheat flour but they were still a nice consistancy. Looked like rocks but not hard!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carisa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
Really impressed, we had everything but the whole wheat. Not a fan of shortening, made them within 10 minutes of reading the recipe, added honey instead of sugar and a little extra soy. Made huge biscuits, cooked evenly and fluffy and tasted great! Ate them with sausage and gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Smith, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Springdale, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
This is a great recipe. It is so easy, which is great because my three year old loves to help in the kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
Great biscuits! I sub.ed 1/2 cup of oats for 1/2 cup of the all-purpose flour, used water instead of milk, and threw in some cinnamon-- they turned out really well and are delicious fresh from the oven with a bit of honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2007
Like the recipe, altho my biscuits still aren't perfect --it's a practice thing, I'm sure, not the recipe. I did used sweetened soy milk, probably not much difference. Anyhow,these are my tastiest biscuits yet! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
I used olive oil instead of canola oil, and added a little honey. The biscuits turned out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Vegan Whole Wheat Biscuits

Use coconut oil and almond milk to create totally vegan biscuits.

Whole Grain Waffles

See how truly delicious whole grain waffles can be.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States