Whole Wheat Drop Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
These biscuits turned out real good. I used all white flour and regular milk. However, I did not get 16 biscuits from the recipe - they would have to very small to get 16. I made 6 large ones. This one I will keep since I don't use shortening like other biscuit recipes use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
These were delicious!! I actually used sour cream instead of soy milk, so I had to add a little skim milk but then it worked great. Next time I'll try the flax seed, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: West Springfield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
Oh my! I found this great recipe when I did a search for whole wheat, egg-free biscuits for dinner tonight. I wouldn't have expected them to taste so yummy, but they were really, really good! I followed the recipe exactly, except for the addition of 3 tablespoons of sugar as suggested by another reviewer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
we really like these and they are so easy to make. i like to add two heaping tablespoons of ground flax seed, adds a butter flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
Quick, easy, very very good for breakfast or super type meals. I used 1.5 c WW and .5 all-purpose flour. My only substitution -because I had it - walnut oil. A mild neutral tasting oil? shouldn't even notice? But WOW there must have been something synergistic going on - it added a wonderful very subtle nutty flavor. Browned top and bottom and nicely moist inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
I just made these for breakfast! They are super easy, the dough handles like a dream, and they taste delicious. They're so light and flaky!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
These are great biscuits. I used all whole wheat flour and I loved them. I also added a dollap of honey. My family was not as impressed as I was, so next time I'll use all purpose and whole wheat, as the recipe states. I took another reviewer's advise and patted them out with a little flour then cut out the biscuits. We had them with beef stew and they were great with the sauce. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thomasville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
Delicious! I was skeptical about whole wheat biscuits, but these had that yummy whole-wheat nuttiness without being to heavy or dense. I did use skim milk instead of soy, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly and my whole family loved them. I do agree with a previous reviewer that the yield was more like 9 regular biscuits (about 2 1/2"-3" round) rather than 16. Thanks for a great recipe -- this one will definitely be a staple at our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tomi Ann Hill

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
These are very good, fast biscuits! I used olive oil since I didn't have canola, cow's skim milk and added a tsp of sugar. They turned out very tasty and are best with some butter or honey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
Great! I, too, added extra milk (I used whole cow milk), oil, and honey. I also added 1-2 Tbs garlic powder and 2 handfuls of shredded cheese. Yummy! Goes great with the chicken noodle soup I made for dinner! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by genkol79

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Whole Wheat Biscuits

Use coconut oil and almond milk to create totally vegan biscuits.

E-Z Drop Biscuits

See how to make quick-and-easy drop biscuits from scratch.

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States