Whole-Wheat Dark Chocolate Zucchini Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Very good. I puréed two small zucchini based on another review...which ended up to 1 cup. I used 3/4 cup whole wheat and 1/4 cup white. I used applesauce instead of oil. Used semisweet instead of dark chocolate because that is all I had. And topped it with 1/2 cup chopped pecans. It came up to 147 cal each. Very good---definitely cake like. Somehow I would like to figure out how to be more fudge like since that it how I like my brownies---but nevertheless these are a keeper . Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
Holy delicious! While mine did turn out more cake like than a brownie, these are scrumptious! I used applesauce instead of oil and pureed my zucchini to give it more moisture. I used Nestle's Dark Cocoa as well. Honestly I would make this for a birthday cake without the chocolate chips on top and ice it! The only problem is I just ate a whole row myself! Thanks, this one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
Very moist and delicious. Used applesauce instead of oil. Will be making again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
Well a house full of kids and they ate it up and none of them was the wiser...that says a lot! I didn't taste the zucchini in the recipe and it came out surprisingly moist. The dark chocolate made it delicious. Certainly traditional brownies are tastier but this wasn't bad for a more nutrient-packed version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
These are the easiest and best tasting brownies I have ever made! Has anyone tried to freeze them? I think i have found what people are getting for holiday presents!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
I used whole wheat pastry flour, which may be the same as the white whole wheat flour that is called for in the recipe, and they turned out great. The 30 minute baking time was too short for me; it took a little over 40 minutes. They did 'fall' a little in the center of the pan as they cooled but were both moist and light, an unusual combination for a brownie, in my experience. My wife has a favorite zucchini cake recipe that she has used for years, and she declared that these brownies tasted better. I placed walnuts on top before baking them, and they truly were very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
I used one pack of apple sauce and some coconut oil. Very moist. one half sugar. w.w. flour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
I just made these yesterday and I really like them! The only thing I changed was to use one whole egg instead of two egg whites. These brownies taste like a cross between zucchini bread and fudgy chocolate cake. You can taste the zucchini just a little, but I love zucchini bread, so that was not a problem for me. I had no problem using only whole wheat flour, either. They are so rich, chocolatey, and moist that I kept going back for more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ajo263

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
Very good, especially chilled!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
These brownies are fabulous. My new favorite!! Don't panic when the batter turns very, very stiff after you add the flour. It will loosen up dramatically when you add the zucchini. Unfortunately, I did not have a 9x9 pan, so I used an 8X8. Next time I'll use my 8x8 but increase baking time by about 5 mins to make the brownies a little firmer. But this is a keeper -- serious dark chocolate moist brownie goodness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Zucchini Brownies

Moist fudgy brownies with a secret squash surprise.

Chocolate Mint Brownies

See the easiest way to make dense, chewy-style chocolate brownies.

Chocolate Zucchini Cake III

This moist chocolate cake makes great use of your extra zucchini.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States