Whole-Wheat Dark Chocolate Zucchini Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
These brownies are amazing!!! I've made them twice, and the second time around I forgot the cocoa powder, but having substituted half the zucchini for pears, they were still awesome! My advice: the darker the chocolate the better. I also only use about a total of 3/4 cup of sugar. Serve with raspberry coulis...to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fleur de lys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Quebec, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
For a healthier version of brownies, these turned out pretty good. The only thing I did a little different was used Nestles Dark Chocolate and Mint morsels because thats all I had on hand, which gave it a nice Minty flavor and I also substituted about a 1/2 cup of applesauce for the vegetable oil. Other than that, they came out moist and more cake-like rather than a brownie texture, but still pretty good! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kacey Pedersen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Made this today and despite my modifications they turned out moist and delicious. I will definitely make them again. Here's what I changed: 1. Used 1/2 cup whole wheat flour and 1/2 cup all-purpose flour (didn't have white whole-wheat). 2. Used 1 tablespoon flaxmeal with 3 tablespoons boiling water in place of egg whites (due to someone with egg allergy at my house). 3. Also used 1 tablespoon egg replacer mixed with 1 1/2 teaspoons warm water (again, due to egg allergy). 4. Didn't have enough chocolate chips (crazy, right!?) and had to use 4 ounces melted semi-sweet baking chocolate in place of 1/2 cup melted chocolate chips. In spite of all of my tinkering they were a big hit and are a nice way to get zucchini into my preschooler and my husband without complaints. Husband and son both loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
These are delicious treat that your kiddos will love! (And you won't feel bad letting them eat them!) After making them the 1st time, I did make a couple modifications. I pureed my zucchini, to keep it well hidden. This loosened up the batter some. I also baked them in a 9x13 pan and they turned out PERFECT! My girls are begging for me to make more! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
I loved these, my daughter loved these, & my husband who will not eat zucchini loved these. (They still don't know they were eating zucchini)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
Way too grainy and dry. Would have been much better with white flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
I just made these yesterday and I really like them! The only thing I changed was to use one whole egg instead of two egg whites. These brownies taste like a cross between zucchini bread and fudgy chocolate cake. You can taste the zucchini just a little, but I love zucchini bread, so that was not a problem for me. I had no problem using only whole wheat flour, either. They are so rich, chocolatey, and moist that I kept going back for more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ajo263

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
These brownies are fabulous. My new favorite!! Don't panic when the batter turns very, very stiff after you add the flour. It will loosen up dramatically when you add the zucchini. Unfortunately, I did not have a 9x9 pan, so I used an 8X8. Next time I'll use my 8x8 but increase baking time by about 5 mins to make the brownies a little firmer. But this is a keeper -- serious dark chocolate moist brownie goodness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
Very good, especially chilled!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Very good. I puréed two small zucchini based on another review...which ended up to 1 cup. I used 3/4 cup whole wheat and 1/4 cup white. I used applesauce instead of oil. Used semisweet instead of dark chocolate because that is all I had. And topped it with 1/2 cup chopped pecans. It came up to 147 cal each. Very good---definitely cake like. Somehow I would like to figure out how to be more fudge like since that it how I like my brownies---but nevertheless these are a keeper . Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Zucchini Brownies

Moist fudgy brownies with a secret squash surprise.

Chocolate Mint Brownies

See the easiest way to make dense, chewy-style chocolate brownies.

Chocolate Zucchini Cake III

This moist chocolate cake makes great use of your extra zucchini.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States