Whole Wheat Cinnamon Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
These did come out nice and fluffy, but the flavor was terrible. My 8-year-old didn't care for it and I quite agreed. They were too salty, for one thing. One reviewer did say to cut the salt, but because I've made similar recipes that called for the same amount of salt I went according to the recipe. I couldn't taste the cinnamon, even though I doubled it. (Because I enjoy cinnamon.) There was a definite grainy quality to the finished product (I think it would have been better if I'd mixed it in a food processor). The flavor was harsh, and needed too much syrup to cover. But I don't want to cover the flavor of a multi-grain pancake, I want to enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
I'm not usually a big fan of pancakes but these are pretty good, and my kids (4 and 1) loved them! I added some fresh blueberries and about 1/4 cup of wheat germ; other than that, I followed the recipe as written and would definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
These are amazing! The only change I made was adding 2 tablespoons of white vinegar to two cups of 2% milk to make a buttermilk substitute since I didn't have any buttermilk on hand. It still turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
Five stars because it's a great alternative pancake recipe. I would cut the salt just a little, but other than that - recipe 'as written' is good. If you don't want whole oats in the batter, just pulse the dry oats in the blender a bit first and that should take care of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Healthy twist on classic pancakes! Pancakes turned out really awesome, never would have thought about putting oats into the batter and we love cooking with whole wheat flour. I added some honey, pecans and a little bit of brown sugar (I tend to like things on the sweeter side) I did try 1 pancake before adding anything extra and it was delish too. Can't wait to try blueberries in these next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
these were great, i added blueberries. They were good with them but would have been just as yummy without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Delicious! I substituted Stevia for the sugar and and added a generous sprinkling of nutmeg, (one) chopped apple, and some walnuts. Cooked on a lightly oiled griddle rather than the skillet. Perfect for a fall day. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
These were great! I added pumpkin pie spice instead of cinnamon and they were fantastic. I also did a milk and lemon juice buttermilk substitution. I love that they call for more oats than whole wheat. I'll make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MichaelaRae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
Yum!! I had some fresh blueberries that needed to be used so this was perfect! I also, added walnuts. I made buttermilk using the vinegar and milk trick. My husband is a diabetic and swears by cinnamon so I added more than was called for. Also left out the sugar and used old fashioned oats (it was all I had). So good! Thanks for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
This recipe was great! The only change I made was that I used 2 tsp. pure maple syrup instead of the white sugar. Fluffy, moist, and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Vegan Whole Wheat Biscuits

Use coconut oil and almond milk to create totally vegan biscuits.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States