Whole-Wheat Chocolate Chip Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2007
I took the advice of other reviewers and used all whole wheat flour, applesauce instead of margerine, and Splenda brown sugar with a little honey. I also used dark chocolate chips. The cookies come out a little cakey and SO good. My whole family loved them!! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Cloud, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2003
I have been trying to add whole wheat flour to our diet, and have learned to be careful. All whole wheat recipees are not equal! But this recipee is absolutely scrumptious. I ran out of white flour and used all whole wheat flour and my kids and husband still devoured these cookies faster than I could bake them. When using all whole wheat flour I had to add about 1 cup more flour. Thanks Belinda for the fantastic recipee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ashleynicole
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
This recipe calls for too much sugar. I only used 3/4 cup white sugar and 3/4 brown sugar and with that, it was good. I decreased the salt to 1/2 teaspoon because a hate salty cookies. Other than that, this recipe is great. Its nice to have whole wheat once in a while! BTW: Whole wheat flour is not the same as WHOLE WHEAT PASTRY FLOUR.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashleynicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
This is a great recipe. I did tweak it a bit for my taste since when I made it as in the recipe it was a bit dry. I reduced the brown sugar to 1/2 cup replaced the 1 cup of all-purpose flour with 1/2 cup oats (although i might try 3/4 cup next time) I increased the baking soda to 1 tsp and reduced the choc. chips to 1 cup. The end result is a bit more hearty because of the oats and a little less sweet. I froze a bunch of the batter and I pull them out when I want a nice warm treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb. B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Diamond Vale, Diego Martin, Trinidad And Tobago

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
My husband and I absolutely love these cookies. I used others advice and used only whole wheat flour and they still tasted great. I went one step further and used splenda and brown sugar splenda in place of the sugars. You can't go wrong with this recipe. We love it for a guilt free snack. Be sure not to overbake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dutchy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Gastonia, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2006
My friends never miss an invitation to dinner at my house because they assume I'll have these cookies. I use all whole wheat flour, butter instead of margarine, extra walnuts and fewer chocoate chips. One time I only had one egg, so used 1/4 cup of canola oil. You just can't ruin them. Amazing recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2005
Okay, omitted half the chocolate chips and the walnuts. Egg substitute for the eggs. 1/2 cup applesauce for 1/2 cup margarine. Yummy!!!!! Sort of crispy and chewy at the same time. I like these a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2006
My entire family LOVES this recipe - we have thrown out all the other chocolate chip cookie recipes we used to use. These are easy to make, and come out perfect every time! Soft and chewy, and they keep their shape instead of flattening out into thin discs like lots of other recipes... Be careful not to over cook these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
yum! they were really good. I also as someone suggested used all whole wheat flour and butter instead of margarine. great recipe, I'm glad I can now add a little virtue to my chocolate chip cookies ;) btw-the dough is yummy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2006
Oh my gosh these are good! We are eating as I am still baking and cannot believe how unbelievable these are. Substituted Splenda baking sugar and Splenda brown sugar for regular white sugar and brown sugar and omited the nuts (kids don't like). Otherwise stuck to the recipe. Thank you, Thank you, Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI

Displaying results 1-10 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States