Whole-Wheat Chocolate Chip Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Finally!!! I have tried several whole wheat chocolate chip cookie recipes & am always disappointed, BUT these are awesome!! I think sifting the flour is key. I used all whole wheat pastry flour and they turned out moist with crunchy edges. I will try less sugar next time to decrease calories as they are pretty sweet. I chopped the walnuts into tiny pieces & my kids didn't even notice them. Thanks for ending my search for a good recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
These's are great! The kids (and even a few healthy food hatin' adults) loved them and had no idea they were whole wheat. I did use butter instead of margerine and white whole wheat flour in my cabinet - probably would be better with fresh but still really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
yum. This is gonna be a staple around here I can tell ya right now! Couple changes...used butter instead of margarine, used 1.5 cups milk chocolate chips instead of 2 cups of semi sweet, and used all whole wheat flour. Also, I had to bake it quite a bit longer, since i used a 9 1/2 x 13 glass pan...it probably took a total of 30mins. thanx!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrscallietea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Overall this is a good whole wheat cookie. Very chewy and moist. The only changes I made was using all whole wheat flour and made a smaller batch. Will definitely make again, probably with less sugar and an even smaller batch, my cookies turned out pretty large. lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
After reading some other reviews I decided to add some milk to the dough because it was very crumbly and dry. The end result was very good. Even my husband liked them and he does not like anything remotely healthly :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
I made a variation of this recipe based on several other recipes used before and they came out great! I used 1 cup of salted butter;1/2 cup splenda white sugar mix; 3/4 cup brown sugar; 2 tsp vanilla; 1/2 cup old fashioned oats; 3/4 cup white unbleached flour; 3/4 cup stone ground whole wheat flour; 1/2 cup milled flaxseed;1 tsp baking soda; 1/2 tsp salt; 2 cups choclate chips; they have the nice chewy texture of oatmeal cookies! next time I will use only 1/3 cup of splenda white sugar mix along with 3/4 cup regular brown sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
The batter was extremely dry and crumbly. The finished product was equally dry and excessively sweet. I have a similar recipe which uses quite a bit more butter/margarine in ratio to the rest of the ingredients. Sorry but this did not work for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
Great cookie! just the right balance between chewy and crispness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
These cookies are delicious! My three young sons RAVED about them and want to "trade them for all the candy in the world." I used two-thirds whole wheat (not pastry) flour and one-third all purpose white flour, and I didn't sift. I also traded 1/3 of the margarine for 0%-fat Greek yogurt and used Smart Balance for the rest. Mine cooked on a lower rack for about 11 minutes. We'll definitely be making these again, and again, and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
Nice recipe. I ground soft winter white wheat berries almost to pastry flour and used that only for flour, used 1/2 c less sugar and used demera instead, added some ground flax, butter instead of margarine, and only used a pinch of salt. These were very nice - you can tell they are whole wheat but they are still nice and tender. I am sure part of that is due to the fresh ground flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pitvet

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States