Whole Wheat Chocolate Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
I used chocolate chips as someone below suggested (skimping slightly on the cocoa) and added about 1/4 cup of walnuts. My whole family and different holiday visitors agreed that it was very enjoyable, whether it be for late breakfast or a snack with coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
I too omitted the cinnamon and nutmeg. I also increased the bananas to four. Good chocolate flavor and not too sweet. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
I found this loaf to be very chewy and the banana seemed to compete with the chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by masterbaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
Just not a fan. I love banana bread, spiced breads, and chocolate. But this combo of banana, chocolate, and spices, just did NOT work for me. Rather than combining things I love, it was none of the things I loved when combined. Didn't taste, chocolate-y, banan-y, or spicy. Just an odd combo. I gave this two stars only because I liked the texture of the bread, and might use it as the basis for something else. Please note, I followed the recipe to a T.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
The chocolate mixed in with the banana takes away from the banana taste and therefore didn't taste anything like Banana bread. It wasn't very tasty and quite bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
perfect balance of healthiness and taste - will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
I changed up a few things. I used Splenda sugar and did not add any of the spices, I don't really care for them with chocolate. I also had low fat buttermilk, so I used that instead of milk with lemon. And put in a half cup of semi-sweet chocolate chips! Came out perfect! A keeper recipe for me. Thank you for sharing! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Petaluma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
I really liked this recipe! The only thing I changed was the amount of nutmeg, cause I don't like that strong flavor that much. But this cake is really tasty. Will try it again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HrlQuinn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miraflores, Lima, Peru

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
I cut the sugar to 1/4, use only egg whites, use 50/50 whole wheat to white flower and took out the unsweetened chocolate and put chips in instead. Made this last night and there is only one piece left. This is the best chocolate banana bread I've made. Will be making this again and again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
Very yummy, and lots of chocolate goodness. The texture was a tad heavy, but the taste was wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AllisonMarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Banana Chocolate Chip Bread

Super moist and delicious banana bread with chocolate chips.

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States