Whole Wheat Chapati Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
This recipe really surprised me. I didnt expect it to turn out as anything without a levener and just a few ingredients. They remind me of the wheat version of a corn tortilla. My only real issue is that they are stiff and dont have much bend to them. It makes it hard to use like bread and tortillas. They are a little heavy or dense in nature too. As far as the recipe ingredients, I used Gold Medal white whole wheat and probably did more like 2 pinches of sea salt. I had to wet my fingers twice to get all of the flour to knead. I shaped it into a disk, cut it into 4, then rolled and flattened each piece. I lined my tortilla press with plastic wrap and flattened them out. They were each the size, shape, and thickness of corn tortillas. I heated a small non-stick pan on 7 spritzed with olive oil. I ended up cooking them on 6.5. They each took 4 minutes, flipping and spritzing extra olive oil as needed. Surprisingly, they do puff up in spots. The next day the 2 left just kind of sat due to their lack of pliability. Recipe was interesting to try either way and ingredients are similar for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
Very easy to make and went very well as a dipper for hummus instead of pita bread. I like the fact that it has simple ingredients but if you fry it in a cast iron pan lower the heat a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by henpep

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
this is awesome. my husband hangs around the kitchen like a little kid sneaking pieces right off the plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
The dogs and myself are bored today and in a mood to eat so I been looking for something that not to fatting and I found this.. I was going to give this three stars after I tried the ones out of the pan. Then I went and tried the ones I baked and WOW I LOVE THEM! (Or should I say we love them) They came cout so crisp can't to try rosemary/olive oil/parm. cheese and cinn./sugar. YUMMY!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rochelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira, New York, USA
Living In: Palmdale, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
These are so quick and easy to make! I absolutely love them. I ate them with hummus. Yummus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
These were so easy to make and really yummy! I brushed them with a little butter and topped 1 section with jam, one section with cinnamon and brown sugar and left one section plain. This will be a new staple, and I love that you can make them on the stove top. They will be great in the Summer time when it's too hot to bake. I can't wait to try them with hummus and savory herbs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Northampton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Simple and good tasting recipe. Reminds me of home whenever I make it. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
This didn't work for me. I'm not sure if I did something wrong, but it turned out rubbery and tasteless. Not like the moderately fluffy bread I've had in Indian restaurants at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I loved this. It´s healthier than bread and really easy to make, plus fast. I put a little bit of garlic mushrooms and goat cheese and it made the perfect snack. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lau MR

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Wellington , Wellington, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
Awesome, quick and easy to make bread. Great with butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rick Ratayczak

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: North Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States