Whole Wheat Chapati Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
This recipe really surprised me. I didnt expect it to turn out as anything without a levener and just a few ingredients. They remind me of the wheat version of a corn tortilla. My only real issue is that they are stiff and dont have much bend to them. It makes it hard to use like bread and tortillas. They are a little heavy or dense in nature too. As far as the recipe ingredients, I used Gold Medal white whole wheat and probably did more like 2 pinches of sea salt. I had to wet my fingers twice to get all of the flour to knead. I shaped it into a disk, cut it into 4, then rolled and flattened each piece. I lined my tortilla press with plastic wrap and flattened them out. They were each the size, shape, and thickness of corn tortillas. I heated a small non-stick pan on 7 spritzed with olive oil. I ended up cooking them on 6.5. They each took 4 minutes, flipping and spritzing extra olive oil as needed. Surprisingly, they do puff up in spots. The next day the 2 left just kind of sat due to their lack of pliability. Recipe was interesting to try either way and ingredients are similar for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
Very easy to make and went very well as a dipper for hummus instead of pita bread. I like the fact that it has simple ingredients but if you fry it in a cast iron pan lower the heat a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by henpep

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
this is awesome. my husband hangs around the kitchen like a little kid sneaking pieces right off the plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
The dogs and myself are bored today and in a mood to eat so I been looking for something that not to fatting and I found this.. I was going to give this three stars after I tried the ones out of the pan. Then I went and tried the ones I baked and WOW I LOVE THEM! (Or should I say we love them) They came cout so crisp can't to try rosemary/olive oil/parm. cheese and cinn./sugar. YUMMY!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rochelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira, New York, USA
Living In: Palmdale, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
These are so quick and easy to make! I absolutely love them. I ate them with hummus. Yummus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
These were so easy to make and really yummy! I brushed them with a little butter and topped 1 section with jam, one section with cinnamon and brown sugar and left one section plain. This will be a new staple, and I love that you can make them on the stove top. They will be great in the Summer time when it's too hot to bake. I can't wait to try them with hummus and savory herbs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Northampton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Simple and good tasting recipe. Reminds me of home whenever I make it. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
This didn't work for me. I'm not sure if I did something wrong, but it turned out rubbery and tasteless. Not like the moderately fluffy bread I've had in Indian restaurants at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I loved this. It´s healthier than bread and really easy to make, plus fast. I put a little bit of garlic mushrooms and goat cheese and it made the perfect snack. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lau MR

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Wellington , Wellington, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
Awesome, quick and easy to make bread. Great with butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rick Ratayczak

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: North Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States