Whole Wheat Carrot-Raisin Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
I will absolutely make these again! I was out of honey so I replaced it with 1/4 c. brown sugar. It was very dry so I added water a Tbl. at a time until it was doughy enough. I also grated the carrot. Wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coolestchicevr

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
I love this recipe because the muffins taste hearty and healthy, but they are still sweet so that everyone can enjoy them. A note on baking soda: the first time I made these, I followed another reviewer's tip and added the baking soda after I had mixed everything else together; I don't recommend this because mine ended up tasting like baking soda - not good! The second time though, I followed the normal mixing instructions and they were perfect. Substitution notes: I didn't have vanilla yogurt so I used lemon yogurt, which worked well (probably because the recipe also calls for orange juice, and lemon is tangy like orange juice). And, I used butter instead of vegetable oil since I think butter is more natural, and of course that worked well too. UPDATE: I've since made these a third time, and I accidentally added almond extract instead of vanilla extract - and whew, they still tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
These are awesome! I didn't change a thing and my kids LOVE them...me too! I make 2 batches and freeze them. I take out a few each night to eat for breakfast or for a snack. Super easy, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
Very good. Just as a tip. If you mix all ingredients EXCEPT for baking soda and let sit for an hour or so, then add soda. And bake. Whole Wheat flour is much fluffier. I also used pineapple juice as extra flavor. And used banana in place of yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
My son loves these muffins! I add zucchini as well!They are sweet, but not too sweet. A bit dense, but I like this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
The recipe was very very moist.I adjusted the recipe to 1/2 because I wanted to experiment with the taste before making a full batch of muffins. I added a lttle bit more orange juice, 2 tablespoons of sour cream and a quarter cup of walnuts to the recipe. I substituted the raisons for cranberries. The baking time was 30 minutes.the muffins were yummy and very delicious and my husband loved them.I definitely plan to make a full batch of muffins and next time with my adjustment added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
mixture was a bit dry, added 2 tablespoons of no sugar syrup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
I love these!! I made a few changes, based on what I have in my measly student kitchen. I didn't have baking soda so I used baking powder (1:6 ratio... I was able to taste it but no one else could) blueberry yogurt, half carrot/half apple, plus a few Splendas thrown into the flour mixture and extra orange juice to make the dough wetter. They are extemely fluffy for whole wheat muffins, not necessarily very moist but light and airy. They're also not very sweet even with the Splendas, but I'm surprisingly pleased at the light sweetness and spice-cake flavour. My roommates loved them and I had to hide the extras. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cantoization

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
This is a great muffin that I felt good about serving to my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
I used splenda sugar blend instead of honey and they were delicious. I accidentally increased the oil in the recipe. The batter is pretty dry but if you ball up the batter before dropping them into the muffin tin, you will get yummy muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Vegan Whole Wheat Biscuits

Use coconut oil and almond milk to create totally vegan biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States