Whole Wheat Carrot-Raisin Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
Very good. Just as a tip. If you mix all ingredients EXCEPT for baking soda and let sit for an hour or so, then add soda. And bake. Whole Wheat flour is much fluffier. I also used pineapple juice as extra flavor. And used banana in place of yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
Both my husband and I liked these muffins. I followed the recipe exactly, but instead of making 14, I made twelve to fit my muffin pans. So, additional time was needed. Thanks for such an easy recipe. I will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
I will absolutely make these again! I was out of honey so I replaced it with 1/4 c. brown sugar. It was very dry so I added water a Tbl. at a time until it was doughy enough. I also grated the carrot. Wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coolestchicevr

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tantuc
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
The dough is too stiff, so I added a half cup of apple sauce. I omitted raisins and added an extra half cup or carrots. I also followed the advice to let sit the dough for an hour and then add soda and bake. I spread the dough between 12 muffin tins and baked 5 minutes longer. The result is a mildly sweet substantial muffin with almost a carrot cake like flavor. They taste good the next day too. I will be baking these again with the modifications described above. My husband didn't care for them since they weren't very sweet. My kids and I liked them a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tantuc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laguna Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
Added 1/3 cup of apple sauce in as well because I thought the batter looked a little dry. I also doubled the pumpkin pie spice and vanilla. They turned out wonderfully. Cooked for 17 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cookstown, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
The second time around I increased the amount of pumpkin pie spice to give the muffins more character. The flavors were too subtle {for me}. Thanks for the recipe Abby, they are definitely guilt-free and great to share outside of the home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
I love these!! I made a few changes, based on what I have in my measly student kitchen. I didn't have baking soda so I used baking powder (1:6 ratio... I was able to taste it but no one else could) blueberry yogurt, half carrot/half apple, plus a few Splendas thrown into the flour mixture and extra orange juice to make the dough wetter. They are extemely fluffy for whole wheat muffins, not necessarily very moist but light and airy. They're also not very sweet even with the Splendas, but I'm surprisingly pleased at the light sweetness and spice-cake flavour. My roommates loved them and I had to hide the extras. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cantoization

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
I substituted canned pumpkin for the yogurt. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rexburg, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
the only change I made was brown sugar in place of the honey as I didn't have any. I added an egg and a couple of tbsp of apple sauce to replace the moisture and they were great! I will definitely make these again...maybe with some walnuts or pecans, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunflower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
These muffins are more of a dense muffin, and quite tasty. I substituted plain yogurt for the vanilla yogurt, and did a little less honey than the recipe called for. I also did not have any raisins on hand, so I just made strictly carrot muffins. I received wonderful review from those that tasted them, and will plan on making these again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brandon, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Vegan Whole Wheat Biscuits

Use coconut oil and almond milk to create totally vegan biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States