Whole Wheat Carrot-Raisin Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by tantuc
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
The dough is too stiff, so I added a half cup of apple sauce. I omitted raisins and added an extra half cup or carrots. I also followed the advice to let sit the dough for an hour and then add soda and bake. I spread the dough between 12 muffin tins and baked 5 minutes longer. The result is a mildly sweet substantial muffin with almost a carrot cake like flavor. They taste good the next day too. I will be baking these again with the modifications described above. My husband didn't care for them since they weren't very sweet. My kids and I liked them a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tantuc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laguna Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
Added 1/3 cup of apple sauce in as well because I thought the batter looked a little dry. I also doubled the pumpkin pie spice and vanilla. They turned out wonderfully. Cooked for 17 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cookstown, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
I substituted canned pumpkin for the yogurt. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rexburg, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
These were dry and a little hard to swallow, especially after freezing. However, for a WW muffin, they were alright
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Pretty good, surprisingly light considering no eggs. A little on the bland side, needs a touch more honey or maybe a bit of brown sugar. Used plain yogurt and added extra tsp of vanilla. Got 16 reg size muffins and cooked for 17 mins @ 350F. Will make again with adjustments and am sure it will be tasty with cream cheese icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Innisfail, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
This is a great muffin that I felt good about serving to my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
Tastes great. I reduced the honey by 1 Tbsp. and increased the yogurt by the same amount. It was not sweet at all and we loved it with veggie gravy as bisuits. Thanks for a very healthy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
Very good. Just as a tip. If you mix all ingredients EXCEPT for baking soda and let sit for an hour or so, then add soda. And bake. Whole Wheat flour is much fluffier. I also used pineapple juice as extra flavor. And used banana in place of yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
I will absolutely make these again! I was out of honey so I replaced it with 1/4 c. brown sugar. It was very dry so I added water a Tbl. at a time until it was doughy enough. I also grated the carrot. Wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coolestchicevr

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
Both my husband and I liked these muffins. I followed the recipe exactly, but instead of making 14, I made twelve to fit my muffin pans. So, additional time was needed. Thanks for such an easy recipe. I will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Sweet Potato Muffins

Enjoy these tasty muffins for a healthy, hearty breakfast treat.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States