Whole Wheat Carrot-Raisin Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
I added one more shredded carrot and another heaping 1/4 cup of raisins. For more orange flavor, I used orange juice CONCENTRATE instead of regular orange juice. Because the reviewers before me had issues with stiff batter, I did add a quarter cup or so (I didn't really measure, I eyeballed) of homemade applesauce. I was able to get 18 smallish muffins out of one recipe. Baked at 350*, they were done at 20 minutes. VERY moist, wonderfully chewy and very flavorful. All of us loved these muffins, even my muffin hating husband. This is one of the best muffins we've had in a while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
These are awesome! I didn't change a thing and my kids LOVE them...me too! I make 2 batches and freeze them. I take out a few each night to eat for breakfast or for a snack. Super easy, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
Used 1 1/2 tsp pumpkin pie spice, didn't have enough honey so I added 1/4 cup of brown sugar, didn't have OJ so I used apple juice. Added 6+ TBSP of apple juice and should have added more as the batter was more like a really, really thick dough. They tasted okay but were kind of bland and felt like something was missing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
My son loves these muffins! I add zucchini as well!They are sweet, but not too sweet. A bit dense, but I like this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
Good recipe! Following others' advice, I wanted to punch up the flavor; instead of pumpkin pie spice I used probably a TB of cinnamon plus 1/2 tsp or so of nutmeg and allspice. I was trying to make these as healthy as possible, so I reduced the oil to 1 TB melted butter. I didn't have any raisins so I substituted 2 small chopped apples; because apples are moist, I threw in a handful of oatmeal. BUT, the batter was so dry, I added another cup of yogurt. These seem like a lot of changes, but I followed the rest of the recipe and really appreciated the framework. They took 20 minutes to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
I used splenda sugar blend instead of honey and they were delicious. I accidentally increased the oil in the recipe. The batter is pretty dry but if you ball up the batter before dropping them into the muffin tin, you will get yummy muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
the only change I made was brown sugar in place of the honey as I didn't have any. I added an egg and a couple of tbsp of apple sauce to replace the moisture and they were great! I will definitely make these again...maybe with some walnuts or pecans, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunflower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
The second time around I increased the amount of pumpkin pie spice to give the muffins more character. The flavors were too subtle {for me}. Thanks for the recipe Abby, they are definitely guilt-free and great to share outside of the home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
These muffins are more of a dense muffin, and quite tasty. I substituted plain yogurt for the vanilla yogurt, and did a little less honey than the recipe called for. I also did not have any raisins on hand, so I just made strictly carrot muffins. I received wonderful review from those that tasted them, and will plan on making these again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brandon, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
I love these!! I made a few changes, based on what I have in my measly student kitchen. I didn't have baking soda so I used baking powder (1:6 ratio... I was able to taste it but no one else could) blueberry yogurt, half carrot/half apple, plus a few Splendas thrown into the flour mixture and extra orange juice to make the dough wetter. They are extemely fluffy for whole wheat muffins, not necessarily very moist but light and airy. They're also not very sweet even with the Splendas, but I'm surprisingly pleased at the light sweetness and spice-cake flavour. My roommates loved them and I had to hide the extras. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cantoization

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Vegan Whole Wheat Biscuits

Use coconut oil and almond milk to create totally vegan biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States