Whole Wheat Bread III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
I've never had much luck getting whole wheat bread to turn out like fluffy sandwich bread, but this one did great. I substituted in a cup of bread flour the first time, and half cup the second time- I had to let it rise a little longer the second time, but it still turned out light. Also I always use wheat gluten and dough enhancer with my whole wheat flour. I used the wheat dough cycle on my bread machine, then let it rise in a bread pan and baked at 350 for 30-35 minutes. It turned out great! I like the sweet flavor. I didn't have any honey, so I just used sugar. This is my new standard bread recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
Yummy! I used oil instead of margarine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
Do not use whole wheat "graham" flour in this recipe. It won't rise. You must use a finely ground whole wheat, or you must use a mixture of white and wheat. I used graham (knowing what would happen, sigh) and added a little extra yeast in an attempt to compensate -- nope. It's been almost 24 hours and it's not rising. In other recipes where I used a combination of white and wheat I didn't have this problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
If I could give it an extra star, I would! This is the best whole wheat recipe for a bread machine that I have found. It was fluffy, moist and had awesome flavor. Definitely a keeper! 10/08 I had to add another note. I was making this one night (without my glasses) and accidentally used oatmeal instead of cornmeal and it turned out just as good. Some times I even split up the two and do half oatmeal and half cornmeal. We LOVE this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2008
I rated it only 4 stars because the crunch from the cornmeal wasn't as present as I had hoped, and the loaf turned out rather heavy (but it wasn't a dealbreaker because I was after a seriously hearty toasting bread). I am not a fan of sweet breads, and this one was not overpowering (just on the edge). A good recipe, I will try it again, maybe cutting the whole wheat flour with some white flour to lighten the loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
This is the most delicious whole wheat bread I have made. I followed "theInsaneChef" and also did not use the bread machine. I used the Kitchen Aide and let it rise twice and then baked in the oven 350 degrees for 35 minutes. I will try adding flax seed next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
I followed the recipe exactly, but result was very heavy, dense, small loaf. I proofed the yeast so I know that was not the issue. Smelled and tasted great, just very heavy. Will try again, maybe add some vital wheat gluten to lighten it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by agreenlee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
Delicious recipe!!! I make this at least twice a week. I use molasses instead of honey and oats instead of cormeal. I also add ground flax seed to make it even healthier. Geeat recipe-thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2008
This bread was excellent! I used the KitchenAid and oven method. I scalded the milk, added the butter, then let it sit until it reached 110 degrees. Then added to the yeast to the mixing bowl and let it set for about 8 minutes until frothy, adding the remaining ingredients (salt last). I did add ground flax and an oatmeal/barley mixture. I will use olive oil next in place of the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
This is great, I don't use the bread machine I make it in my KitchenAid. So simple and everyone loves it. I do add some ground flax seen and oats...sometimes sunflower seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICHAELASMUM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States