Whole Wheat Bread III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
We don't use powdered milk or margarine so I used milk and olive oil. That was all I changed.I used the whole wheat cycle on the bread machine. The loaf came out hard, dense and only 2,1/2" high. It's not my yeast; that is working perfectly on the loaves I regularly bake. I'll not be wasting freshly ground organic grain on this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JIMANNI

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Acton, Greater London, England, U.K.
Living In: New Hamburg, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
I tried this recipe twice and both times the bread was super dense and didn't rise... It's not the yeast, I tested it. So, I can see that the taste is good, the cornmeal definitely adds a lot to it. But for me, super dense and then, very crumbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANINHA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lexington Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
Eliminated the sugar and set on SWEET setting. Looks good, smells great!!! UPDATE:: ?Forgot to come back..well I love it!! Took the last fifth or so of the loaf and picked it off little by little as I sat in my room indulging. Thank you >.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaley_Rae

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
This is a great recipe! I made a few changes to adjust to my own preference: I don't like sweet bread so I omitted the sugar, reduced the honey to 2 Tbsp and added 1/4 cup of flaxseeds. The cornmeal gives a really nice texture. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
This is the best whole wheat bread recipe that I've ever tried. I made the dough in my bread machine and then made rolls with it. Also did not have corn meal and used oats instead. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gideon'sMommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Banks, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
this is a great bread. i grind my own flour so i find i need more flour than is called for. i dont know if the same is true for store bought flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
This was a good whole wheat bread. I really liked the addition of cornmeal; it gave the loaf a satisfying "crunch." Out of personal preference, I skipped the sugar, and the finished loaf was definitely sweet enough without it. I did convert the recipe for the oven, since I don't have a bread machine. Thanks for a tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
My first time baking a loaf of bread and it looked so beautiful coming out of the oven I was thrilled! It rose beautifully and after letting it cool I cut a piece and toasted it. It tasted as good as it looked with a satisfying slightly crunchy texture lent by the cornmeal. I was over the moon! That said for those of you like myself who will be oven baking your bread due to lack of a bread machine or pure preference (see review posted by theinsanechef for oven baking recipe changes) As well If you have a kitchen aid Mixer, use your doug hook and general baking directions that can be found at www.ehow.com (how to make doug with a Kitchen Aid Mixer); You'll want to bake it at a lower temp than the recipe calls for and for a little longer. I did 325F for 35 minutes as a previous poster had suggested lowering the temp (her bread was still raw in the middle as well but dark on the outside) and my bread was still a bit raw about a third of the way into the loaf. I would still do the 325F as it came out nice and brown, but I think it could use another 15 minutes. I'll try it and post my results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookaholic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Stouffville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
This is a great basic recipe. My two-year old loves it with cream cheese or for making grilled cheese. I do have to add quite a bit more flour, though. I slice it as soon as it's cool and keep it in a gallon-size zipper bag in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
l add one egg, a this recipe... excelente
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States