Whole Wheat Bread III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
First, the lazy instructions provided do not help make this bread better since whole wheat flour sometimes has to be treated differently than regular flour. Take this down! unless you provide with real instructions on how to make this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David Shultz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
EASY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
Veganized it and baked in the oven. It was wonderful. 1.25 cup soymilk scalded. 3 Tbs Earth Balance melted in milk and Agave Nectar + sugar dissolved. Once 110 deg F was reached added yeast and let proof x 10 minutes. Mixed wheat flour, 3 Tbs vital wheat gluten (I like this to increase chewiness and rise), 1/4 c cornmeal. Stirred in as much of the flour mixture as possible and finished of the mixing/kneading part in the stand mixer with dough hook. Put in oiled bowl, covered x 1 hour. Formed into loaf shape, let rise x 1 hour again. Then Baked at 350 deg F for 35-40 minutes. It has this chew and crunch combination going on that is fantastic. Also, its a nice sweet treat with just a little Earth Balance. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
After much searching for the perfect 100% whole wheat sandwich bread, I found this one and I love it! I've been making it at least once per week for nearly a year, and now store-bought bread tastes like cardboard to me. I do make a few minor modifications to the recipe: - reduce the honey to 1/4 cup - omit white sugar (it's plenty sweet enough for sandwich bread!) - reduce salt to 1 tsp. (it rises better for me that way) - I usually have to increase the amount of flour to 3 1/2 or 4 cups, depending on how sticky the dough is after the 1st kneading. I don't use a bread machine, either. Just combine all ingredients in a stand mixer with dough hook and mix on low speed. After a couple minutes of kneading take out a little piece of dough and test it. If the dough sticks to your fingers a lot and doesn't stretch, it needs more flour. Add a little more flour and knead until dough is smooth and elastic. It's very important to get the right texture and ratio of flour, and it sometimes takes a few not-so-good loaves before you learn how to tell if dough is right. Put dough in a large oiled bowl in a warm oven for an hour to rise. Once doubled in size, punch down and knead again, shaping it into a loaf shape and place in greased loaf pan and let rise until crowned 1-2 inches over the top of the pan. Then bake in 325 oven for 35 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
This is a simple and delicious recipe for wheat bread. I only used 1/2 Tbl of sugar and for the cornmeal I used a mixture of cornmeal, flax seed, and chia seed. I also subbed 1/2 cup oatmeal in place of 1/2 cup of the flour. It's a forgivable recipe that lets you add extras to your liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
This recipe turned out really well for me, I used my bread machine and let them rise for about 30 minutes and than baked at 325 for 17 minutes. I did not think they were too sweet. I have been looking for a whole wheat roll recipe and this is definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEACHES28

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
Delicious! I prefer to bake in oven, so I did dough cycle on breadmaker, baked oblong freeform loaf at 325 degrees for 30 minutes. So moist, chewy, and satisfying. I didn't add the 2 Tbsp. sugar, and it was still sweet enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
I didn't use a bread machine, but did add a few more tablespoons of flour. It was great, texture and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
We found this bread too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
Except for using milk in place of powdered milk and water, butter in place of margarine and Bob's Red Mill 7 grain hot cereal with flaxseed in place of cornmeal, followed the directions of this and Theinsanechef. Allowed to rise quite some time and cooked at 325 - needed almost an hour to reach 190 degrees internally. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States