Whole Wheat Bread III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2007
I did not get to make this as I would have liked to (had some trouble with the bread machine and yeast measurement) but I think it came out pretty much like it should have. I would not make it again so I won't ever know. I just don't think I like using whole wheat flour for the whole thing, I would prefer half regular half whole wheat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
This is the best bread recipe I've ever tried, and it's good to know that healthy stuff is going into what we eat everyday. I substitute 1 of the TBSP of margarine for 3 TBSP of flaxseed to give it an extra boost of healthy stuff. Subbing more than 2 TBSP margarine for flaxseed results in a denser bread, so I wouldn't recommend that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2007
I love this recipe, however I use half wheat and half white flour and sub wheat germ for the cornmeal. So yummy! This is now my staple bread around the house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Livermore, California, USA
Living In: Lompoc, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
This has become my favorite bread recipe and I make 2-3 loaves a week. I use dry buttermilk powder for the dried milk and substitute wheat germ for the corn meal. I also add 3-4 teaspoons of vital gluten. Excellent loaf!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2007
So easy! I mixed the dough in the machine and baked in the oven at 375 for about 30 min. Wonderful taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MADSENFAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
I had a question to ask you about this recipe is there any different instruction so it could possible be made without a bread machine please let me know thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2007
This bread was fantastic! I followed the instructions with one exception, I used corn syrup instead of honey. We're just not big honey people at our house. It rose well, it looks lovely, and it has a wonderful whole wheat flavor. We will definitely have this again our house. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
This was a very good wheat bread. I had to add about 1/3c more flour. I will reduce the sugar and honey next time by half, as I found this bread a bit sweet for everyday use. I don't keep cornmeal in my pantry, so I used 1/4c of Red River (or sunny boy) whole grain cereal. I love hearty whole grain breads, and this is better than any other bread machine loaf I have made from my bread maker. I did my last rise out of the machine, basted it with butter, and baked at 350f for 25 mins next time I will bake at 325f for at least 35 mins, as it was a bit under done, but the crust was quite dark. I also made a second batch, and divided it into 12 dinner rolls and baked at 325f for 35 mins these turned out perfectly. Thanks for a great starter recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
Simply the best whole wheat bread i have ever tasted. I can't make enought to keep all at work happy. Every Sunday is a baking day. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Manahawkin, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
I have been making bread for over 20 years, the last 10 with a bread machine. I LOVED this recipe. It turned out a perfect loaf, had a wonderful texture and was very moist. Highly recommend it. Think I will try putting cornmeal in some of my other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Estes Park, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States