Whole Wheat Bread III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
My guess is the original recipe was made for lower altitudes where the flour amount is decreased. Living in Calgary, where the altitude is higher, I needed to use more flour. (About a third cup) I made this last week and the buns are gone so today I'm making a double batch! Beware, it may rise so high it will lift the lid of your breadmaker off! I am making them into buns again plus one loaf as my breadmaker does not do a good job on the baking side of things. Thanks for this wonderful recipe. I love the addition of the cornmeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shans

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
Deliciously soft, sweet and ever so crunchy (thanks to the cornmeal addition). I used the dough setting on my machine and then made the dough into rolls. Very pleasing for 100% whole wheat! I'll be keeping this recipe for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mollycurls77

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgewater, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
This was the best whole wheat bread I have made (I'm new to bread making.) I left out the sugar. It was moist but it was also very crumbly when I brought my sandwich to work (I had to eat it with a fork.) I'll keep it as a breakfast bread and continue hunting for a sandwich bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
I loved this bread...adjusted, thanks to the reviewer who gave directions, because I don't have a bread machine. I let my mixer mix for about 8 minutes, left out the cornmeal. My family LOVED it! The texture was amazing, too! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
Nice but too sweet. The crust also got pretty tough pretty quickly. I had to add over 1/2 cup more flour to make it more like dough than batter. I did fluff the flour and sweep off the excess when measuring though so perhaps had less flour than really called for anyway?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
It didn't need so much sugar! next time i'll only use either the honey or the sugar. Also I think I will let it rise just a little bit because it didn't rise for me. On a good note it was really really moist! I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
I used these for hamburger buns and they were great. They didn't rise for me, but still tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
Wonderful! It stays moist for several days in an airtight container. I didn't have regular milk powder so I used buttermilk powder instead and it tastes great! Everyone Loves This Bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ariel Casperson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
I made this with oatmeal instead of cornmeal and about 1/3 to 1/2 C extra flour, half soy milk / half water and no milk powder, 1/4 C sugar and 2 T honey, and set the bread machine for a 2.5 lb sandwich loaf. Excellent! The whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
This is my go-to wheat bread. Absolutely love how easy this is, and it turns out great EVERY time! Don't put the bread maker on wheat setting. Just don't do it... Love this recipe, use it all the time, exactly what i was looking for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by epeacock

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States