Whole Wheat Bread III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
This turned out to be a very dense bread, but has a good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karla Sonnenberg

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owatonna, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Farmington, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
This is Amy's new favorite: a piece of this toasted with butter tastes like Davenport Bakery whole wheat bread! We made it the first time with proofed active dry yeast. It makes a nice loaf in the bread machine that has the right density and size to cut for sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
I increased the serving size to 16 and made the recipe with my stand mixer. I put it in two 8X4 inch pans and they turned out beautiful. I like the smaller loaves for toast. Beautiful recipe, will be making often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
This is definitely a keeper! So tasty! Nice moist texture and easy to boot! I made it without the cornmeal since I didn't have it. Next time though, I'm going to try just one TB of sugar. I thought it was a tad too sweet for regular sandwich bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
It turned out quite dense, but that's what I expect with 100% whole wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by The Purple Baker
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Delicious! I used 1 1/4 cup milk instead of the water and milk powder, and only a teaspoon of salt and no sugar. I made the dough in the bread machine and then formed them into 13 rolls. Let them rise after shaping in a warm place. I baked them at 325 degrees for about 18 minutes. I will definately make these again! *UPDATE: I made this recipe into a loaf and baked it for about 25 minutes. It's to die for! I also used 1 cup + 1 Tbsp milk and 3 Tbsp oil instead of the margarine and water/milk powder this recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Purple Baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
EXCELLENT! Super moist, slightly sweet, and absolutely wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joel N Alta Morris

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
The bread did not rise well. I make bread regularly, and I prepared it in my bread machine. All my ingredients were fresh. I might try it again, just to see if it was a fluke. The texture was pretty good. Way too sweet, though. I will leave out the suger if I try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Red Bank, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
very very good!! flavor and texture were excellent. made some for a friend also - her family eat the whole loaf in 2 days. that says it all. I will make this again. it was great with our breakfast this am also. the men in my family LOVE THEIR BREAD.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
I don't have a bread machine, so I did this in my mixer and baked in the oven. I could have done something wrong in mixing the ingredients, but this bread didn't rise. Very dense dough, but I like a dense bread. Even when I baked it it didn't rise much at all. I make bread all the time and have never had a problem with it rising, so I don't know what happened. I am still giving this 4 stars because it probably would have turned out different with a bread machine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States