Whole Wheat Bread III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2004
This bread is super-easy to make and has a delicious nutty-crunchy texture. The only unfortunate thing is that, like all homemade breads, it gets stale quickly. Plan to eat it in within 2-3 days. It's wonderful when sliced, drizzled with honey, and eaten while still warm. Mmmmmm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2004
This recipe was fantastic. We are trapped by a winter storm in NC and I did not have all the ingredients. I substituted maple syrup for honey and old fashioned oats for the cornmeal and it still turned out wonderful. Thanks for this foolproof recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2004
This is our new favorite bread recipe (and we eat a lot of bread!). I have a bread machine but still make this into 8 mini-loaves or 12 muffins and it works great. The cornmeal adds wonderful texture... even though I used applesauce instead of fat. I serve this at dinner parties and everyone loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2004
This was a wonderful bread.I did make a few changes though.In place of the sugar I used 2 TBS. of Blackstrap Molasses and for the dry milk I used 100% Whey protein booster,the vanilla flavor....put it all in my bread machine.Will keep this one.....Thank You.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2003
This makes a very good whole wheat bread, even without a bread machine. I kneaded for the standard 8-10 minutes, and I had to add a bit more flour than the recipe called for (about 1/4 c. I guess, and for the extra I used all purpose white). I also used about 1/4 c. gluten to help it rise. I let it rise three times, and I baked it for 35 minutes at 375 F.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACKALLEN
Home Town: Superior, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2003
The fuss for me is the fact that, of all the wheat, white, whatever bread machine recipes I've tried, this is the only one that didn't end up like flavored lead. It made a truly perfect loaf. I substituted one cup of white bread flour for wheat, and had to add an additional quarter to third cup during kneading to get the right dough consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Petaluma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2003
I made this last week and am making again today. I left out the butter last week and it was still great. Today I will make it according to recipe with the exception of decreasing honey to 1/4 c. Next time I plan to use part cornmeal and part ground oats. Very yummy and almost sugarbuster legal. Oh, also I use whole wheat pastry flour in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2003
I'm not sure what all the fuss is about over this recipe . . . the bread came out as described (a very dense whead bread with a bit of crunch from the cornmeal.) Probably just not my family's cup of tea. Too heavy for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2003
WOW. I just made this bread and it is so good. I used dark molasses in place of the honey and only 2 1/2 Tbsp lt. margarine (I used Smart Balance) and it turned out a beautiful, dark brown, robust flavored bread that rose up nice and high. The molasses gives it a really neat taste. THANKS for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2003
I made a 2-lb loaf of this bread last night and most of it was already gone this morning. This is a good, easy, flavorful bread with a nice texture. I did decrease the honey almost by half and used a light margarine (Shedd's Spread) to save calories, and the bread was still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pillowtrot

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States