Whole Wheat Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
This was a great bread. It came out light and slightly sweet. Since my loaf pan is smaller, I just cut off a bit of dough and used it to make cinnamon rolls. Those were really great too and had a new earthiness to them. I will make this again. To the reviewer saying this is not a whole wheat bread: Technically, it is. It just isn't 100% WH. The term whole wheat is a modifier on the bread just like rye is to rye bread even though it's not made with all rye flour. Most whole wheat breads you'll find in stores aren't 100% either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
This bread is FANTASTIC! I love this recipe so much. Thank you for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRANDIFSK

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
was good, only thing I changed was I used white sugar, not brown because that is what I have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmingville, New York, USA
Living In: Geneseo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
Fool Proof!!! I replaced the brown sugar with Splenda Brown. I left in the white for the yeast to work. Loaves are large and light and tender. Good holes and good crumb. Freezes well and makes good toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by candice hawkley
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
Love-it! This recipe is so easy and it makes delicious bread! I've got my mom and my sisters making it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2006
I thought this recipe was great. I didn't end up with crumbly bread, and I don't bother with gluten. The texture is great, and the flavor is just like the bread mom used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2006
This was a really good basic wheat bread recipe. It was so wonderful to have 4 loaves done. I felt like I accomplished so much that day! Try making it into 2 loaves, some breadsticks and some wheat rolls from the dough. Then freeze! I will make a few changes to my next batch. I will decrease liquid by 3TB and replace the brown sugar with honey (you need to decrease liquid when subbing in honey). I will add some vital wheat gluten for a chewier texture. As is, this bread is very crumbly/lots of crumbs. So if that is what you prfer don't add gluten! Also, I prefer all whole wheat, so I will not add any white flour next time. This is wonderful recipe as is or with a few minor changes! Thanks for the submission--this one will be used weekly by me!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Ohio, USA
Living In: Redding, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2006
I really enjoyed this bread. I agree with another reviewer who said the dough was very sticky but it didn't matter the end result was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2006
Despite the reviewer below who says this isn't a whole wheat bread recipe - this is one of the best whole-wheat bread recipes I've ever used and I've been making bread for over 40 years. There are many whole wheat recipes that use half white flour. Concession I made: I only used the 1 c.brown sugar, eliminated the other sugar. Because I like to make my bread in a KitchenAid Mixer, I put half of each of the flours and all the rest of the ingredients in the mixer bowl. When that was well mixed, I poured the batter into a measuring cup, and then returned half of that to the mixer. I then added half of the balance of each of the remaining flours. This gave me more managable pieces of dough to work with. I added an extra 5 minutes or 50 turns of kneading by hand to each piece, then kneaded the two pieces together to rise. This bread makes wonderful toast, a great sandwich or just plain with butter. My husband raves about the bread everytime he has a slice. Thanks for a great recipe. It deserves more than 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2006
This is the best whole wheat recipe I have come across. I have been able to replace the white flour with 50/50 flour making the bread 3/4 whole wheat without sacrificing moisture or texture. It is best if you add the boiling water to the whole wheat and give it about 20 minutes to soak it up, that way you won't knead more flour into it than you need!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taichung, Taichung, Taiwan
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States