Whole Wheat Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by Snow likes to cook
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
Very good bread! We made 2 loaves. Its great bread to snack with, toast, sandwhich, its all around great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olean, New York, USA
Living In: Pueblo West, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
This bread is delicious! I made four loaves tonight and it's almost already gone. Everyone ate about 3 slices each. My teenagers suggested we start selling it to the neighbors - it's that good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie E.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
This was a great bread. It came out light and slightly sweet. Since my loaf pan is smaller, I just cut off a bit of dough and used it to make cinnamon rolls. Those were really great too and had a new earthiness to them. I will make this again. To the reviewer saying this is not a whole wheat bread: Technically, it is. It just isn't 100% WH. The term whole wheat is a modifier on the bread just like rye is to rye bread even though it's not made with all rye flour. Most whole wheat breads you'll find in stores aren't 100% either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
This bread is FANTASTIC! I love this recipe so much. Thank you for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRANDIFSK

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
was good, only thing I changed was I used white sugar, not brown because that is what I have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmingville, New York, USA
Living In: Geneseo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
Fool Proof!!! I replaced the brown sugar with Splenda Brown. I left in the white for the yeast to work. Loaves are large and light and tender. Good holes and good crumb. Freezes well and makes good toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by candice hawkley
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
Love-it! This recipe is so easy and it makes delicious bread! I've got my mom and my sisters making it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2006
I thought this recipe was great. I didn't end up with crumbly bread, and I don't bother with gluten. The texture is great, and the flavor is just like the bread mom used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2006
This was a really good basic wheat bread recipe. It was so wonderful to have 4 loaves done. I felt like I accomplished so much that day! Try making it into 2 loaves, some breadsticks and some wheat rolls from the dough. Then freeze! I will make a few changes to my next batch. I will decrease liquid by 3TB and replace the brown sugar with honey (you need to decrease liquid when subbing in honey). I will add some vital wheat gluten for a chewier texture. As is, this bread is very crumbly/lots of crumbs. So if that is what you prfer don't add gluten! Also, I prefer all whole wheat, so I will not add any white flour next time. This is wonderful recipe as is or with a few minor changes! Thanks for the submission--this one will be used weekly by me!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Ohio, USA
Living In: Redding, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2006
I really enjoyed this bread. I agree with another reviewer who said the dough was very sticky but it didn't matter the end result was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States