Whole Wheat Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
First try at whole wheat bread. It was perfect! I halved the recipe so that it made 2 loaves and used all purpose flour instead of the bread flour. Good texture will be making again soon.... Thanks Ruth
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
I've made a lot of bread, but this is the best whole-wheat bread I have ever made. The texture was not too dense, and the flavor was excellent. I halved the recipe to make only two loaves (I froze the second after the first rise and will bake it later), used oil instead of butter, used almost entirely whole-wheat flour (I just kneaded with white, and I did have to add a significant amount), and did my best to halve the yeast (which, rounded slightly up, ended up being 1 Tbl + 1/2 tsp). Also, I added my "dough enhancer" that I like to do with whole-wheat breads. For this halved recipe, I used 2 Tbl vital wheat gluten plus 1 Tbl + 1/2 tsp vinegar (amount of vinegar equal to amount of yeast, and about 1-1/2 to 3 tsp gluten per cup of flour, although you probably won't need either if you use bread flour with higher protein and some acid built-in already...but I use this since I like to do all whole-wheat). I will definitely be making this recipe again! I have found a new favorite bread recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
This is the perfect whole wheat bread recipe. I left out the white sugar, and I used my professional Kitchen Aid mixer. It made it easier to mix up the whole batch at once. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
I made this again last week. This time I used 1/3 AP flour, 1/3 fresh ground whole wheat, 1/3 fresh ground barley... who needs storebought bread? All three loaves are gone in less than a week... going to make more today! Oh boy was this good... I have been looking for a nice bread recipe to replace our store-bought bread. This is it! Everybody loves it... I used my vitamix to grind the whole wheat berries into flour, and wrapped it tightly in plastic wrap after cooling. Yum! (Oh, I did also use more white sugar and less brown sugar, and a non-dairy butter substitute.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RepEAT Bakery

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
I just got a wheat grinder and was so excited to try making whole wheat bread. I was disappointed with the bread. The texture was too airy and it dried out quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
Delicious bread!!! omg, for wheat bread it was so perfect. I will be making this very often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lachine, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
Great recipe. I split it in half (except the yeast- 2 packets) and cook two loaves. I let it rise for a litte longer, but still a great recipe. Not nearly as mealy and heavy as homemade wheat bread has a tendency to be. I don't use a machine at all, and this recipe turns out great every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
Great whole wheat bread. Soft and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ferndale, Michigan, USA
Living In: Sebring, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
This is a great recipe! I made a 32-serving size (3/4 of the original recipe), and from it I got a dozen dinner rolls, one regular (large) loaf, one mini loaf, and crust for a 16" pizza. I didn't have any bread flour, so for the bread flour, I used half all-purpose flour and half whole wheat flour plus the whole wheat flour called for in the recipe. I also substituted honey for the white sugar as other reviewers suggested. My whole family loved this bread, so I will definitely be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
I've been using this recipe for months now...it my exclusive bread recipe. Nice hearty bread, slices well and is excellent toasted and for sandwiches. It makes nice rolls too. I've even used it for pizza crust with excellent results. I use all whole wheat flour and often add in some oats and milled flax seed. WONDERFUL recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Displaying results 31-40 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States