Whole Wheat Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Mormon Mama
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
I'm not an expert, but I grew up making bread. I didn't have honey for my usual recipe and found this one. I LOVE it! It's the best bread I've ever made. My two year old got her own chunk to make, and even it turned out pretty yummy. i had never made one in a cast iron skillet before but someone showed that in their picture, and my usual recipe only makes three loafs, so I tried it, and I think it was my favorite. Great recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
Easy to follow! Makes four nice size loaves that my family absolutely loved! I made five different recipes and this one was hands down the favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
This recipe is very easy and extremely delicious. I did make some changes because I am trying to move towards whole foods. So, instead of the brown sugar, I used only 1/2 cup succant sugar. In place of really bad shortening that is full of really bad trans fats, I used butter. I did use 3 cups unbleached white flour but substituted splet and oat flour for the wheat flour. I have tried many recipes and this one is a keeper. Next time I am going to try to cut down on the white flour. We will see how it works.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
This is one of the best wheat bread recipes around. I have played around with it, adding more wheat flour and less white flour, and it is always FANTASTIC! This is a great 'base' recipe with which to experiment in making bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
This is a wonderful bread! I substituted canola oil for the shortening and boiled the brown sugar and water for 5 minutes before adding. It has perfect texture, a nice, even, soft crust, and is soft and moist, not dry and crumbly as some whole wheat recipes can be. Very simple and easy to make. I will use this one repeatedly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dina

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
This bread is amazing. Moist and delicious, and not an overbearing whole wheat taste. My two year old even likes it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
This is my go-to recipe for wheat bread! Great texture, great flavor. I usually make them into rolls instead of loaves (bake about 13 minutes for rolls). Easy to make, and extras freeze really well for future use. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
I cut the recipe to do 3 loaves, used about 1/2 cup brown sugar and skipped the white. I also used a cup of rye flour. It was absolutely delicious bread! After the first rise, I took one third of the dough, stretched it out and sprinkled a tbsp of cinnamon and a bunch of raisins on it, rolled it up tight and let it rise another 2 hours in the bread pan. So so good!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lece

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
This is a pretty good recipe, for me it came out as slightly dense bread that tastes like a bready "wheat thin;" given that I like the taste of wheat thins, and given that I like bread, I saw that as a win. I'll definitely make this bread again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
Many of the comments say fool proof - well perhaps I am a fool but I found this bread to be VERY dense. Any suggestions? I am new to bread making and am various recipes to find one I really like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States