Whole Wheat Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
I made this bread twice - I plan to make it again and to let everyone know about it. It is very tasty, and very simple to make. The first time I made it (half the recipe) the dought was so sticky, that I didn't kneed it. I was afraid to add more flour, so I mixed it with a spoon. Nevertheless, it came out well. The second time it was less sticky, and I did kneed it a little, plus I substituted 1/2 cup whole wheat flour with oat bran (I ran out of flour). It was so good! My fussy toddler loves it - that says it all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2005
I am giving this one star because the recipe is not for a whole wheat bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CindyLu
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2005
I cut the recipe in half for two loaves. The first time I tried it, I had to add almost an additional cup of flour because it was too sticky to knead. Thought I might have measured liquids incorrectly so tried it again being very careful with measurements. Same problem. The finished bread is tasty but dense - probably due to the extra flour. I found it required quite a bit more rising time. I won't try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2004
This was very delicious. I halved the recipe and made 2 loaves. The 1st loaf was gone that evening, kids loved it. Next time I might add honey and let it raise quite a bit longer than recipe suggests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2004
this recipe is great! i've so far made it twice and passed it along to friends. i have two suggestions that might make it even better. first--i substituted honey for the white sugar because it's healthier and it's amazing. second--it was a little 'short' one time i made it. if anyone else has this problem i would suggest a third rising. so instead of forming it into loaves you would punch it down and then rise it again, and then form it into loaves. or alternatively just wait a good long time for it to really rise in loaf form. (i may have jumped the gun because i was so excited for bread)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2004
This was a very tasty recipe, I just pulled the bread out of the oven and since it was my first time making whole wheat bread from scratch I was dying to taste it! It was very good with just a little sweetness which in my opinion makes a perfect wheat bread! :) Thank you for this recipe! I cut the recipe in half, and got one HUGE loaf and 12 dinner rolls out of it.. I will be keeping this one in the family for a long time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BETSYBADU

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Redding, California, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2004
Great recipe!! I didn't have bread flour and used regular white and wheat flour and it still turned out great!! makes 4 large loaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATHIEH63

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2003
I thought that the bread was great. It gave a nice quantity and cuts well for sandwiches. Thanks for sharing it. I do plan to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Michigan, USA
Living In: Port Richey, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2002
I have been looking for a good whole wheat recipie, finally found it! thank you! thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2000
Good taste, but crumbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States