Whole Wheat Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
This bread is wonderful. My husband and son ate an entire loaf in one night. I did add more shortening and gluten. I prefer less crumbly bread. Absolutely my favorite wheat bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
Great recipe. I added 4 T vital wheat gluten, decreased water by 4 T and added honey in place of brown sugar. I let it rise a little extra time as I like soft fluffy bread. (The 4 T of sugar is optional in my opinion if it is going to be used exclusively for sandwhich bread.) I made 3 breads and 6 large rolls. Next time I will make one of the breads into a breakfast bread by rolling it out and spreading a brown sugar, nut, raisin, cinnamon filling inside the bread. This recipe does not disappoint!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
Bread had a good taste and was easy enough to make, but it was too dry and crumbly for us to use as an everyday bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
Super easy!! Nice and sweet. Followed the recipe exactly and had great results. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
Excellent bread. All of our parents are here and they all love it. I halved the recipe and had to add in another cup of flour, but that may be bc I halved it and bc of the humidity around here. Turned out very soft and crumbly. And it's almost already gone . . . thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
I must say this bread is totally wonderful. I did switch some things up a bit after reading some of the reviews. I used extra virgin olive oil instead of shortening and I used Honey instead of the white sugar. I also decreased my liquid by 4TBSP. Another thing is I used 3C all purpose flour and 11C whole wheat flour. I Also used 4TBSP of the vital gluten. I lost what I thought was my favorite bread recipe and I am so happy to have found this one. Thank you very much for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
This is a pretty good recipe. I just had one improvement-- I added 4 tablespoons vital wheat gluten (purchased at a food co-op). This made the bread a lot less crumbly. Also, if you let the bread rise longer, it will be lighter and fluffier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlsbad, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
Very nice flavor and texture. I made a half batch (2 loaves) in my Kitchenaid mixer. I used 2 packages of yeast and added 2 Table. vital wheat gluten since I was using all purpose flour instead of bread flour. This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whodunitrdr

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wenatchee, Washington, USA
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2008
This is the best bread recipe I have ever used. I love that it make 4 loaves. My family loves when I make bread, so it is nice to have a enough to last awhile before I have to make more. I can't wait to make more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
My 4 year Old & 18 Month old love this bread. I changed it up a tad and make it in my bread machine, and only make 1 loaf. Here is my Bread machine version of it YUMMY!! 1.25 C Warm Water, 1 tsp salt, 2 Tblsp melted butter, 1/4 C Brown Sugar, 1 Tblsp white sugar, 1.5 C Bread Flour, 1.5 C Wheat Flour, 1.5 t yeast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StayAtHomeMom

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States