Whole Wheat Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Cassondra
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
Great wheat with sweet flavor. Tastes just like my grandmother used to make. It has a crunchy outside and a soft middle with makes it great for toasting and grilling, probably not so great for sandwiches. I halved the recipe and made one regular loaf and one round loaf in a cast iron skilled. Both turned out great. I always brush with butter to give the bread shine and stay soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassondra

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mountain Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Eden Prairie, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
I love this recipe. I make it exactly as written. It sometimes takes a little more ww flour to make the dough stiff enough to knead. Yield of 4 loaves makes it worth the trouble to bake bread. Excellent toasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PJHMIRACLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dewitt, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
First try at whole wheat bread. It was perfect! I halved the recipe so that it made 2 loaves and used all purpose flour instead of the bread flour. Good texture will be making again soon.... Thanks Ruth
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
I've made a lot of bread, but this is the best whole-wheat bread I have ever made. The texture was not too dense, and the flavor was excellent. I halved the recipe to make only two loaves (I froze the second after the first rise and will bake it later), used oil instead of butter, used almost entirely whole-wheat flour (I just kneaded with white, and I did have to add a significant amount), and did my best to halve the yeast (which, rounded slightly up, ended up being 1 Tbl + 1/2 tsp). Also, I added my "dough enhancer" that I like to do with whole-wheat breads. For this halved recipe, I used 2 Tbl vital wheat gluten plus 1 Tbl + 1/2 tsp vinegar (amount of vinegar equal to amount of yeast, and about 1-1/2 to 3 tsp gluten per cup of flour, although you probably won't need either if you use bread flour with higher protein and some acid built-in already...but I use this since I like to do all whole-wheat). I will definitely be making this recipe again! I have found a new favorite bread recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
This is the perfect whole wheat bread recipe. I left out the white sugar, and I used my professional Kitchen Aid mixer. It made it easier to mix up the whole batch at once. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
I made this again last week. This time I used 1/3 AP flour, 1/3 fresh ground whole wheat, 1/3 fresh ground barley... who needs storebought bread? All three loaves are gone in less than a week... going to make more today! Oh boy was this good... I have been looking for a nice bread recipe to replace our store-bought bread. This is it! Everybody loves it... I used my vitamix to grind the whole wheat berries into flour, and wrapped it tightly in plastic wrap after cooling. Yum! (Oh, I did also use more white sugar and less brown sugar, and a non-dairy butter substitute.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RepEAT Bakery

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
I just got a wheat grinder and was so excited to try making whole wheat bread. I was disappointed with the bread. The texture was too airy and it dried out quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
Delicious bread!!! omg, for wheat bread it was so perfect. I will be making this very often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lachine, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
Great recipe. I split it in half (except the yeast- 2 packets) and cook two loaves. I let it rise for a litte longer, but still a great recipe. Not nearly as mealy and heavy as homemade wheat bread has a tendency to be. I don't use a machine at all, and this recipe turns out great every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
Great whole wheat bread. Soft and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ferndale, Michigan, USA
Living In: Sebring, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States