Whole Wheat Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Loved it!!! I think this is my new go to for whole wheat bread. Cut it down and mixed it in the bread machine and baked it on a bread stone. My three year old and I are enjoying it right now with some honey butter :) Love it love it love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Living In: Newcastle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly. It came out perfect and tasted so much fresher than store bought loaves. I had a slice with peanut butter this morning. Delicious. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
This is the most delicious bread ever. I add applesauce instead of shortening because it is healthier and there is no difference in the overall outcome. It seems I usually have a really wet dough following the recipe (probably because of the applesauce), but I add 2c. of old-fashioned oats and keep adding flour til it gets to the right level of moisture. I add about 2-3 tbsp of gluten and that really helps with kneading the bread and the chewiness. The loaves have frozen well for me and stay fresh better than any other recipe I've tried. Let the bread cool and dry all the way out before bagging it. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
WONDERFUL! My 1st successful bread recipe. Thank you. Not too heavy or wheaty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WendyDay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shadkitty
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
We ran out of bread while stuck in the house due to snow and ice. My usual go-to bread recipe required honey, and we were all out of that too! I tried this recipe for the first time and it got rave reviews! It's moist and absolutely perfect with butter or jam. Though I should have made the full recipe, I halved it and loaf one is already gone (3 hours after being pulled from the oven).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shadkitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glenn Dale, Maryland, USA
Living In: Winder, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
I scaled the formula to 1 loaf, to test it out first. It was fantastic! I used instant yeas t(to skip the dissolving stemp) and mixed all the dry ingredients, then added the shortening mixture and water to mix. Big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
WOW! This is yummy and very easy. I hate to use the bread machine and I was able to do this right in my kitchenaid with the dough hook. The bread is just light enough and has a great crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
Simple and tasty. I always seem to mess up bread - not this time! Will definitely be a standard around the house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
This is a GREAT basic whole wheat bread recipe. I used butter instead of shortening and mixed the whole wheat flour with the hot water instead of using the bread flour for that step (the hot water helps soften the whole wheat). I also halved the recipe. This will be a regular feature in our house for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
I made this using softened butter and all-purpose flour, and it is just delicious. Slices really nicely and toasts up well. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GiGi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Randolph, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States